Product Design is an interdisciplinary field. Search the Otis OPAC to locate specific books and to find call numbers for browsing.
| Product and Industrial Design | TS 23-194 |
| Architecture | NA 1 - 9999 |
| Decorative Arts | NK 460-1380, 2800-9700 |
| Design | NK 1390-1700 |
| Engineering, Mechanical and Electrical | TJ, TK |
| Fabrics and Textiles | NK 8801-9505, TS 1300-1860 |
| Fine Arts | N, NB, NC, ND, NE |
| Furniture | NK 2205-2715 |
| Interior Design | NA 2850, NK 1710-2195 |
| Lighting | NK 2115, TH |
| Technology | T |
Product Design headings to use when doing a subject browse search in Owlcat
or add "History" to the name of any product or company, e.g.
Materials and Design, 3rd ed. by
Materials are the stuff of design. From the very beginning of human history, materials have been taken from the natural world and shaped, modified, and adapted for everything from primitive tools to modern electronics. This renowned book by noted materials engineering author Mike Ashby and industrial designer Kara Johnson explores the role of materials and materials processing in product design, with a particular emphasis on creating both desired aesthetics and functionality. The new edition features even more of the highly useful "materials profiles" that give critical design, processing, performance and applications criteria for each material in question. The reader will find information ranging from the generic and commercial names of each material, its physical and mechanical properties, its chemical properties, its common uses, how it is typically made and processed, and even its average price. And with improved photographs and drawings, the reader is taken even more closely to the way real design is done by real designers, selecting the optimum materials for a successful product.
Design Process by
Explores the seven stages of the design process -- inspiration, identification, conceptualization, exploration/refinement, definition/modeling, communication, and production.
Managing the Design Process: Implementing Design by
Managing the Design Process--Implementing Design focuses on design implementation and execution. This is where design ideas become real, tangible goods in the marketplace and beyond. This book examines design management concepts and methods in real-world applications. Unlike other books on design management, this bookis visually stunning, featuring many image-rich case studies to illustrate the fundamentals of design management in a way that speaks to a design audience. The information is not something that is typically taught in design (or business) school--it's learned on the job, making this an invaluable reference for designers.
Process: 50 product designs from concept to manufacture, 1st ed. by
This book provides an in-depth study of the creative and manufacturing processes behind 50 contemporary domestic design objects. Chosen from all around the world, they span furniture, lighting, tableware, textiles, and other products. Featuring the work of both long-established and emerging designers, each product is selected for its significant use of new technology,unorthodox or complex production process, use of innovative materials (or traditional materials adapted in new and unexpected ways) and, in some cases, for the creative concept behind it. Beginning with a general introduction, each project is then presented through explanatory text as well as aninspirational image, sketch, detail shots of production processes, and the completed product. A glossary of production methods is also included. Process offers an interesting and useful insight into how products are designed, for students and professional designers alike.
Universal Methods of Design: 100 Ways to Research Complex Problems, Develop Innovative Ideas, and Design Effective Solutions by
This comprehensive reference provides a thorough and critical presentation of 100 research methods, synthesis/analysis techniques, and research deliverables for human centered design, delivered in a concise and accessible format perfect for designers, educators, and students.
Research Methods for Product Design by
This book provides the reader with a comprehensive, relevant, and visually rich insight into the world of research methods specifically aimed at product designers. It includes practical case studies and tutorials that will inform, inspire, and help you to conduct product design research better. Product designers need a comprehensive understanding of research methods as their day-to-day work routinely involves them observing people, asking questions, searching for information, making and testing ideas, and ultimately generating 'solutions' to 'problems'. Manifest in the design process is the act of research. Huge technological advances in information, computing, and manufacturing processes also offer enormous opportunities to product designers such as the development of "intelligent" products and services, but at the same time raise important research questions that need to be dealt with. Product designers are, in many ways, best placed to address these challenges because of the manner in which they apply their design thinking to problems.
Sustainable Materials, Processes and Production by
This book is an essential reference for understanding the environmental impact of materials, manufacturing processes, and product life cycles, and is also a guide on how to select and use them in an intelligent way. It includes in-depth analysis of fifteen materials, fourteen processes, and six production life cycles, supplemented by specially commissioned photographs and diagrams.
The Art of Critical Making by 
Deconstructing Product Design by
Deconstructing Product Design engages readers in a process of critically analyzing a diverse collection of 100 innovative products, from well-known classics to contemporary objects of desire. New in paperback, this books aims to support critical thinking about design, facilitate discovery of patterns of success (and failure) across products, and enable designers to apply lessons learned to their own design work. Experts from multiples design disciplines contribute commentary.
iF product design award yearbook 2011
Graphis Product Design 3 by 
Sustainable Product Innovation by
This important book, designed for academic courses, certifications, and professional training, makes a well-supported business case for sustainable product development, and why human well-being must become the overarching goal of new technology and product development. It presents a holistic systems approach for achieving multi-stakeholder optimization in product life-cycle design in order to meet a firm's objectives, investors' ROI expectations, and regulatory requirements, while protecting the environment and rapidly depleting natural resources. It also provides entrepreneurs and executives the guidance and decision-making tools needed for achieving superior commercial success.
Handbook of Human Factors and Ergonomics by 
Dictionary of Furniture by 
Sourcebook of Modern Furniture by 
1001 inventions that changed the world by 
Encyclopedia of modern everyday inventions by 
Scientific American Inventions and Discoveries by 
The A-Z of Modern Design by 
The Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design by 
Design Dictionary by 
The Design Encyclopedia by 
Dictionary of 20th-century design by 
A Dictionary of Modern Design by 
Inspiring designers : a sourcebook by 
Rewind Forty Years of Design and Advertising by 
The Thames & Hudson dictionary of design since 1900 by 
World History of Design by Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | MyOtis
Millard Sheets Library | MyOtis | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian
