Skip to main content

Information Literacy: RESEARCH GUIDES

What the Library Call Numbers Mean

See what's in the Library Special Collections!

HISTORY OF GRAPHIC DESIGN THROUGH PUBLICATIONS
See samples of some of the fascinating books in the Otis College Library.

ARTISTS' BOOKS AT OTIS COLLEGE LIBRARY
Find out more about artists' books and Laboratory Press student work in the Otis College collections.

Copyright & Fair Use

COPYRIGHT AND FAIR USE GUIDE
Includes info on Otis policies and guidelines for using copyrighted material in the classroom.

Materials-Related Research Guides

Visual Culture Research Guide

Art & Art History Research Resources

Art History Timeline: Pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture.

Smarthistory: Art History on Khan Academy is a collaboration of art historians, archeologists, curatorswho want to make the highest-quality art history learning content freely available to a global audience. Includes videos and written materials.

ACI Scholarly Blog Index is a curated collection of scholarly blogs.

FINE ARTS PHOTOGRAPHY

Artists' Books

Feminist Art (Suggested Readings)

History of Photography

Modern Art History

Public Practice

Be A Smarter Web Searcher

Search Tools Chart

Google Advanced Search

Phrase searching. Often putting the words of a phrase in quotes will cause the engine to look only for those words together:
"chocolate cake"


You can often use Boolean operators to refine your search.

What about Google Books? Google Books is an index of full-text books and magazines that Google has digitized. You can only view the full-text of books in the public domain. For materials still under copyright, Google often provides only snippets. Not great for academic research.

Wikipedia

Wikipedia's most important role is to provide an introduction to the subject. It perfect for preliminary research.

There is much to know and there is an entire guide devoted to WIKIPEDIA.

Quality Web Sources

There is so much to know about what makes a quality web source that there is an entire GUIDE dedicated to the subject.

Movies That Matter and Social Change

Research Guide for Movies that Matter and Social Change Through Media

MOVIES THAT MATTER AND SOCIAL CHANGE

Other L.A. Libraries

English/Writing/Speaking/Grammar

Millard Sheets Library | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | 310-665-6930
Otis College of Art and Design | Dashboard | Library in Dashboard
Millard Sheets Library | Ask a Librarian