Skip to main content

Millard Sheets Library: New York Times

Library web site

Free Access for All Students, Faculty, and Staff!

The New York Times

Create Your Own Account

New Users:

  1. Go to accessnyt.com
  2. Search for and select Otis College of Art and Design. You will be redirected to the NYT registration page.
  3. Click Create Account and complete the Sign Up form with your Otis College of Art and Design email address.
  4. Verify your email address.

When you see the "You have claimed your NYTimes Pass" screen, you have successfully registered.

Existing Users: If you have previously registered your @otis.edu or @student.otis.edu email address on The New York Times site, click the "Already have an account? Log in here" link for Step 3.

Returning Users: Once you have activated your account, you can log into your account from any computer at NYTimes.com.

Mobile Apps: To download your free NYTimes smartphone or iPad apps, go to NYTimes Mobile Apps.


The confirmation email may be routed to your spam folder. You must click the link in this email to complete the registration. If you run into any problems, please check the Academic Pass Troubleshooting FAQ.

What's Included

Does Include:

  • NYTimes App
  • Full daily NYT content
  • Archive - dating back to 1851
  • NYT Cooking
  • NYT Virtual Reality App - which allows you (with a VR viewer) to experience some NYT content in 3D
  • Daily 360 content - two dimensional, but provides 360° views (with mobile device or using a mouse)
  • Podcasts - including new 'Daily' podcast
  • Video content
  • Newsletters - there are a variety of topics that you may subscribe to

Does Not Include:

  • Premium Crossword App - we know…boo! You can subscribe to this separately using a different email address
  • Unlimited access to some historical articles - limit of 5 per day for access to articles dated 1923-1980 - but we provide unlimited access via library databases

FACULTY: New York Times in Education Site

As part of Otis College's access to the New York Times online, you also get free access to the New York Times in Education. This is a resource to help both educators and students make the most of NYTimes.com’s digital 24/7 content. New content and teaching resources are added to this site on a weekly basis by Faculty Contributors from a variety of institutions. You get:

Faculty Contributions: Articles & Questions to Guide Class Discussions

Subjects:

Overview and Key Features

NYTimes.com is a multi-platform news tool that provides full access to New York Times and International New York Times content, including breaking news, multimedia, reviews and opinion, blogs, videos and more. NYTimes.com is updated 24/7 with corresponding time stamps. From the home page, one can access more than 25 Times sections, including World, Politics, New York, Opinion, Business, Technology, Science, Sports, Arts, Fashion & Style, and Video.

International Edition
Edited from Paris, London, Hong Kong and New York, The International New York Times (formerly The International Herald Tribune) provides readers with a continuous flow of geopolitical, business, sports and culture coverage from a distinctly global perspective. Users are able to read the International Edition with simple navigational tools on both the web and mobile apps. Users are also able to read the Chinese Edition on the web.

Sharing & Commenting
NYTimes.com allows the user to email an article (to both subscribers and non-subscribers) and share it via social media, including Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Reddit, and LinkedIn. Its cross-platform feature allows the user to retrieve saved articles from the device of his/her choice. The permalink feature allows hyperlinks to easily be added to any Course Management System. Users are able to submit comments on each article, and will be posted upon review by the New York Times newsroom.

Newsletters, Alerts & Times Wire
NYTimes.com provides 30+ daily and weekly newsletters on topics such as Top Headlines, Breaking News, Small Business, Movies Update, and Cooking, delivered directly to the user’s inbox. Its most recent, 'What We’re Reading' email newsletter features a roundup of great reads from around the web, chosen by New York Times reporters and editors. Custom alerts can also be created to monitor when specific keywords appear in NYTimes.com. Times Wire is a continuous stream of the latest articles and blog posts published on NYTimes.com.

Most Read & Recommended Articles
NYTimes.com lists the & most emailed and ‘most viewed’ articles by our readers each day. It also serves up 'recommended for you' articles based on the articles each user has previously viewed.

Mobility
Users have the ability to access NYTimes.com 'on the go' using a collection of phone and tablet apps for iPhone, iPad, Android, Windows Phone, BlackBerry, and Kindle Fire.

Historical Coverage
NYTimes.com institutional subscriptions provide full access to New York Times articles published between 1851 through 1922, and between 1981 through current day. Access to the years1923-1980 is limited to 5 articles per day.

Search
NYTimes.com provides searchable access to articles, videos, blogs, features, interviews, obituaries, and columns. NYTimes.com features a single search box with result-filtering that includes date range, result type (article vs. blog), section, author and the ability to search on ‘images only.’

Today’s Paper
Today’s Paper section allows the user to read all of the current day’s print content in a digital format. Contained in this section are all of the articles found in that day’s print edition (along with corresponding page numbers).

Times Topics
Times Topics pages consolidate all the news, reference and archival information, photos, graphics, audio and video files published on predefined topics ranging from A M Castle & Company to Zyuganov, Gennadi A. Times Topics pages cover people, subjects, organizations, and places. Times Topics also provides other resources from around the web that have been selected by researchers and editors of The New York Times.

Cross Searching with Other Relevant Content
NYTimes.com is primarily a single- source browsable tool, but it does provide content from other sources selected by the New York Times newsroom via Times Wire, Times Topics and NYT Now (top news iPhone app).

Real-Time Market Data Information & Company Research Pages
NYTimes.com provides real-time global snapshots of US and World Markets, Funds, Currencies, Bonds & Consumer Rates powered by Thomson Reuters with data provided by Morningstar & BankRate. In-depth company research pages covering 11,000+ public and private companies are also provided.

Download PDF version

Have the NYT Sent to You Daily!

Sign up for free newsletters and get more of The New York Times delivered to your inbox.

Go here: https://www.nytimes.com/newsletters

Potential sections of interest:

For general news coverage, here's a list of a few nytimes.com sections that are popular with higher education students and faculty:

  • The Upshot - this team takes on major issues through data visualization and data analysis
  • The Interpreter - explores the ideas and context behind major world events
  • Education Life - covers colleges and universities, teachers, public and private schools, tuition, scholarships, financial aid & student loans
  • On Campus - features personal essays and art by college students, professors, and administrators on issues affecting higher education and university life
  • ScienceTake - combines cutting-edge research from the world of science with stunning footage of the natural world in action

Check Out the Augumented Reality Content

Augmented Reality: How We'll Bring the News Into Your Home
The New York Times is about to expand our journalism so you can experience it in three dimensions, just by picking up your phone.

For instance, check out this David Bowie article with a focus on costumes by Japanese designer Kansai Yamamoto, among others.

Virtual Reality App

Stand alongside Iraqi forces during a battle with ISIS. Walk on a planet three billion miles from the sun. Join our award-winning journalists at the center of it all. Explore the library of 360-degree virtual reality experiences for yourself.

Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | Otis Dashboard

Millard Sheets Library | Library Dashboard Site | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian