Books about zines can be found in NC968 and N7433.3
Books about mail art are in N6494 M35
Browse zines from our collection on the Periodcial Shelves
Underground press publications
Books About Zines
From Codex to Hypertext by Anouk Lang (Editor)The start of the twenty-first century has brought with it a rich variety of ways in which readers can connect with one another, access texts, and make sense of what they are reading. At the same time, new technologies have also opened up exciting possibilities for scholars of reading and reception in offering them unprecedented amounts of data on reading practices, book buying patterns, and book collecting habits. In From Codex to Hypertext, scholars from multiple disciplines engage with both of these strands. This volume includes essays that consider how changes such as the mounting ubiquity of digital technology and the globalization of structures of publication and book distribution are shaping the way readers participate in the encoding and decoding of textual meaning. Contributors also examine how and why reading communities cohere in a range of contexts, including prisons, book clubs, networks of zinesters, state-funded programs designed to promote active citizenship, and online spaces devoted to sharing one's tastes in books. As concerns circulate in the media about the ways that reading -- for so long anchored in print culture and the codex -- is at risk of being irrevocably altered by technological shifts, this book insists on the importance of tracing the historical continuities that emerge between these reading practices and those of previous eras. In addition to the volume editor, contributors include Daniel Allington, Bethan Benwell, Jin Feng, Ed Finn, Danielle Fuller, David S. Miall, Julian Pinder, Janice Radway, Julie Rak, DeNel Rehberg Sedo, Megan Sweeney, Joan Bessman Taylor, Molly Abel Travis, and David Wright.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Behind the Zines by R. Klanten (Editor); A. Mollard (Editor); M. Hubner (Editor)Social networks are dominating today s headlines, but they are not the only platforms that are radically changing the way we communicate. Creatives such as designers, photographers, artists, researchers, and poets are disseminating information about themselves and their favorite subjects not via predefined media such as Twitter or blogs, but through printed or other self-published projects so-called zines. Those who publish zines are mostly interested in sole authorship, namely that all components including text, images, layout, typography, production, and distribution are firmly in the hands of one person or a small group. At their best, the results convey a compelling and consistent atmosphere and push against the established creative grain in just the right way. They provoke with surprising and non-linear food for thought. In short, zines are advancing the evolution of today s media. With a cutting-edge selection of international examples, Behind the Zines introduces the broad range of zines that exists today. These include zines that function as a new kind of project-oriented portfolio to showcase a self-profile or document an exhibit. While some act as (pseudo) scientific treatises to call the reader s attention to a specific topic, others serve as playrooms for creatives to run riot and express themselves and communicate with each other in a space that is free from editorial restrictions. The book examines the key factors that distinguish various zines. It introduces projects in which the printing process significantly influences aesthetics or in which limited distribution to a small, clearly defined target audience becomes part of the overall concept. Behind the Zines not only documents outstanding work, but also shows how the self-image of those who make zines impacts the scene as a whole. Through interviews with people involved in zine production and distribution, the book sheds light on various strategies for this evolving media form.
Call Number: NC968 B436 2011
Publication Date: 2011-04-01
D. I. Y. Design It Yourself by Ellen LuptonAlso available on ProQuest Ebook Central. Not satisfied with the new T-shirts on sale at the local mall? Maybe you'd like a wedding invitation that expresses your own vision, not your party planner's? How about some personalized stationery? An upgrade to your website? A business card? A poster for your political campaign? A CD package for your band? Sound good? Then get up off your couch and Design It Yourself! Avoid graphic identity theft: build your own. Ellen Lupton, bestselling author ofThinking with Type, will show you how. DIY: Design It Yourself, provides you with all the tools you'll need to create your own projects, from conception through production. Here you will find: - simple ideas on how you can "think like a designer" - clear and coherent explanations of design technologies, from silk-screening to web development - what materials you'll need to get your job done - where to find and buy them - how much time and experience your project demands - diagrams that show how to handle complex tasks - basic typographic dos and don'ts - the history and theory of the DIY design movement - hundreds of innovative and beautiful projects for inspiration No more excuses. With this book, virtually any design task is within your grasp. Just do it (yourself)!
Call Number: NC997 D59 2006 & E-Book
Publication Date: 2006-01-19
Ripped, Torn and Cut by Subcultures Network (Editor)Ripped, torn and cut offers a collection of original essays exploring the motivations behind - and the politics within - the multitude of fanzines that emerged in the wake of British punk from 1976. Sniffin' Glue (1976-77), Mark Perry's iconic punk fanzine, was but the first of many, paving the way for hundreds of home-made magazines to be cut and pasted in bedrooms across the UK. From these, glimpses into provincial cultures, teenage style wars and formative political ideas may be gleaned. An alternative history, away from the often-condescending glare of London's media and music industry, can be formulated, drawn from such titles as Ripped & Torn, Brass Lip, City Fun, Vague, Kill Your Pet Puppy, Toxic Grafity, Hungry Beat and Hard as Nails. The first book of its kind, this collection reveals the contested nature of punk's cultural politics by turning the pages of a vibrant underground press.
Call Number: E-Book
Publication Date: 2018-07-10
LA Zine FestVolunteer-run annual zine fest held in the Los Angeles area
Sherwood Forest Zine LibraryIndependent media library focusing on zines and DIY culture Austin, Texas. Has an extensive and free Virual Zine Library
Queer.Archive.Work: Digital LibraryBased in Providence, RI, collects PDFs of significant and difficult-to-find publications from the last fifty years, focusing on urgency, radicality, and liberation. Includes zines.
Ray Johnston EstateIncludes an extensive archive of materials including, but not limited to, correspondence, mail art, collages, documentary photographs, objects, and memorabilia by and about Ray Johnston.