Skip to main content

Finding Images: Artists' Books Collection

Banner Temp

Short History of the Artists' Books Collect at Otis College

Artists' books are exceptionally varied and creative by their very nature. The complex medium employs the book, in any of its various guises (scroll, codex, fold-out or single sheet boxed, to name but a few forms of books) as an original work of art. They usually integrate the formal means of conception and production with aesthetic or thematic aspects. Artists' books are considered unique works of art in one-of-a-kind or small edition multiples. Some now are mass produced. The variety of its form makes the artist book difficult to define. The twentieth century witnessed particularly varied and creative experimentation with artists' books culminating with an expansion of the medium in the '60 and '70s. California became a center of production.

The collection of artists' books at Otis College of Art and Design began and grew significantly during this period due largely to the efforts of librarian Joan Hugo, a recognized expert in artists' books. The Otis Library's current collection is approximately 2,300 works. Among the holdings are books by important contemporary artists such as Ed Ruscha and Joseph Beuys as well as work by recent graduates of MFA programs in the book arts such as Sarah Bryant and Daniel Mellis.

The collection also includes books made by Otis students in the Laboratory Press, which was begun by Sheila de Bretteville, Chair of the Communication Design and Illustration Department at Otis/Parsons from 1980-1990. Susan King, Simon Toparovsky, Cynthia Marsh, and Katherine Ng, all important book artists, were among the faculty over the years. This is a unique collection of books, often produced in editions of 2 or 3, with particularly good examples of innovative structures, excellent typography, and interesting content.

The goal of the Otis Artists' Book Collection is not to create a comprehensive archive, but rather to provide a valuable teaching resource available to artists and students. Since the collection is available on only a limited basis, providing access to the books via an online image database is a continuing project, one that we hope will assist those with interest in researching our collection as well as the medium in general.

 

Sue Maberry, Director of Otis Library
Cathy Chambers, Catalog Librarian
Heather Cleary, Visual Resources Librarian

Project Files

In June 2003, the Getty Grant Program provided funds to the Millard Sheets Library to catalog and digitize our entire collection of 2,500 artists' books. As of January 2006, most of the project has been completed and the collection is available thorough to the public through the Otis Collections Online website. (The original homegrown experimental database is no longer available.)

Please note: These files are geared for librarians and catalogers.

Items from the Collection

Flowers: Drawings and Silkscreen Prints by Antic-ham

Flowers

Fragments from the Stacked Deck by Judy Anderson

Fragments from the Stacked Deck

Sanctus Sonorensis by Philip Zimmermann

Sanctus Sonorensis

Occupy Your Wallet: Photographs of Various Occupy Wall Street Sites, an Ongoing Project by Emily Artininan

Occupy Your Wallet

20/20 Vision by Ant Farm (Design Group)

Ant Farm

Metallic Sleep by Doug Aitken

Spinning by Gail Watson

Spinning

Transforming Hate by Clarissa Sligh

Transforming

Mideast Kaleidoscope by Louise Neaderland

Mideast

Aggregate Memory by Macy Chadwick

Aggregate Memory by Macy Chadwick

Life Time by Julie Chen

Lessons from the South by Susan King

Twentysix Gasoline Stations by Edward Ruscha

26 Gasoline Stations

Stages of the Hajj by Daniel Mellis

Stages of the Hajj

Composition in F Minor by Ginny Lloyd

Composition in F Minor by Ginny Lloyd

In This Dark Wood by Elisabeth Tonnard

In this dark wood

Lucha por la Vida = Struggle for Life by Ral Veroni

Lucha por la vida

Links

Artists' Books Guide

Books on Video (You Tube Playlist, part of an Otis' exhibition)

Request an appointment to view artists' books in person

Guided Searches

Browse all items


Search by fields

Laboratory Press Collection

Otis College operates a press where classes are taught and artists' books are produced by students. The Laboratory Press, which was begun by Sheila de Bretteville, formerly Chair of Design at Otis in the late 1970s and early 1980s. Susan King, Simon Toparovsky, Cindy Marsh, and Katherine Ng, all important book artists were among the faculty over the years. This is a unique collection of books, often produced in editions of 2 or 3, are particularly good examples of innovative structures, excellent typography, and interesting content.

These books are part of the Artists' Books Collection.

Browse the collection

Advanced Search

Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | Otis Dashboard

Millard Sheets Library | Library Dashboard Site | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian