Skip to main content

Finding Images and Videos: OtisDID (old version)

Images, videos, and audio resources at Otis College and on the web

IMPORTANT! The OtisDID at did.otis.edu will be shutting down on August 1, 2020.

Please migrate any images or slideshows you may have editing since March 24, 2020.

Please use the the updated OtisDID at mdid.otis.edu

MDID3 preview of homepageTry out the Upgraded OtisDID: mdid.otis.edu

New version of the OtisDID that does not rely upon Flash!

January 2020

  • Initial upload of data and images

February 2020

  • Testing authentication and permissions
  • Testing adding new content
  • Tweaking the interface

March 2020

  • Upload changes in data and images in OtisDID since the initial load
  • Start offering training sessions
  • Launch

May 2020

  • Get user feedback
  • Turn off access to OtisDID

Video demo available soon

About

OtisDID

OtisDID

The Otis Digital Image Database (OtisDID) is an imagebank of art historical and design images intended for educational and instructional use only. Faculty, students, and staff of Otis College may log in to the Otis DID to create “slideshows” for study and educational purposes. You can even use these digital images in the classroom instead of slides. Since this is a web application, you may access this site 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Currently, there are over 35,000 images available. Although the collection focuses on Modernism, images of art, architecture, and design from many cultures and time periods are included. In accordance with fair use guidelines, the images are purchased from vendors, harvested from subscription databases, web databases, CD-ROMS, scanned from slides, and occasionally scanned from books and magazines. This database is password-protected.

MDID

Madison Digital image Database (MDID) is the underlying software. It was developed at James Madison University for art historians by art historians.

Faculty Uses

  • Search across multiple collections
  • Create slideshows
  • Organize slideshows within folders
  • Save searches
  • Select favorites
  • Add your own images to your personal collections
  • Package slide shows for off-line viewing
  • Add notes to an image which will be carried into multiple slideshows

Student Uses

  • Search across multiple collections
  • Create slideshows
  • Access active slideshows created by their teachers
  • Print out slideshows with thumbnails
  • Create flash cards from active slideshows

How to Login

  1. Go to https://did.otis.edu
  2. Enter your Otis College credentials
  3. If prompted, read and accept the Terms of Service
  4. If you get an error message about Flash, click "Continue Anyway"

Adding Personal Images

Faculty can create a personal collection by using the My Images feature under MyMDID. Directions are available in the OtisDID Advanced Tips handout. For best results in the the classroon, the images should be at least 1000px in on the longest side.

Students may not upload their own images.

Requesting Images

We are continually adding images to the imagebank and are always happy to receive requests. Allow at least one (1) week to add them. Please contact Heather Cleary.

Getting Help

One-on-one, workshops, in-class demos, and more options are available. Please contact Heather Cleary in the Library for scheduling. The TLC usually holds one or two workshops for faculty each term.

Enabling Flash

Some parts of O-Space and the OtisDID require the Flash plug-in. Follow these directions to enable Flash in your browser:

Add exceptions for:

ospace.otis.edu
did.otis.edu

[*.]otis.edu

Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | Otis Dashboard

Millard Sheets Library | Library Dashboard Site | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian