Skip to main content

O-Space: CLASSIC E-PORTFOLIOS

ePortfolio Structure

picture highlighting sections, pages, and modules on an ePortfolio

#1 Sections

  • Start here by adding Sections to organize your ePortfolio. Sections hold multiple "pages" and function like categories for content.

#2 Pages

  • Next add pages. Pages will hold "modules" of actual content. Pages function like specific topics.

#3 Modules (Content)

  • Add Modules. Modules hold content on a given page. Content can be text and other media.
  • SAVE + PUBLISH once done.

#4 Submissions

  • For students, once you have built sections, pages, and uploaded content - submit the ePortfolio work to your instructor.

Comments

  • O-Space users can leave comments on pages of an ePortfolio. The ePortfolio owner receives an email every time a comment is given.

Conversations

  • Allows O-Space users to leave edits on specific content on an ePortfolio page. These conversations show as blue bubbles on the right margin. the ePortfolio owner is not notified when a conversation note has been left.

Glossary of Terms

Artefact/Artifact
Images, text, documents, video, music or multimedia that is uploaded onto any type of e‐portfolio.
 
Assessment
Collection of material for review.
 
e-Portfolio/Digital Portfolio
An electronic portfolio, also known as an e‐portfolio or digital portfolio, is a collection of electronic evidence assembled and managed by a person on their own online portfolio webpage. This collection of evidence may include text, electronic files, images, multimedia, and more. E-portfolios are both demonstrations of the user's abilities and platforms for self‐expression, and, if they are online, they can be maintained dynamically over time. Some e‐portfolio applications permit varying degrees of audience access, so the same portfolio might be used for multiple purposes.
 
Evidence
This is the work a student submits to complete a specified post or submission in O‐Space. It can be an artifact or an actual section of their Learning ePortfolio. This evidence can also connect to course Learning Outcomes.
 
Learning Outcomes
In an O‐Space course there is a tab called “Learning Outcomes." Learning Outcomes are statements that specify what students will know, be able to do or be able to demonstrate when they have completed or participated in a program/activity/course/project. In this area of your O-Space course, faculty can list Learning Outcomes for their course/department and track student submissions of coursework that fulfill that specific Learning Outcome.
 
Learning Management System
A learning management system (LMS) is software for delivering, tracking and managing courses online. It may be used for Distance Learning as well as live classrooms. A LMS may offer features for online collaboration and student workflow. Most LMSs are web‐based to facilitate access anytime, anywhere. Examples of LMS are: Digication (our O‐Space) and Blackboard.
 
Learning e-Portfolio
A Learning ePortfolio is a specific genre of e‐portfolios. A student curated mutli-media collection of both visual and written work that provides an opportunity for students to reflect on their learning experiences at Otis. 
 
Modules
Modules are the framework for structuring and organizing e-portfolio content. It allows for information such as text, image or multimedia. Multiple modules can be added to any single page as needed.
 
Notifications
In an O‐Space course there is a tab called “Notifications”. This is the default view when entering an O‐Space course and lists the recent activity within that course on O‐Space.
 
Posts
In an O‐Space course there is a tab called “Posts”. Posts are used to upload content for courses such as syllabi, handouts, readings, or resources. Instructors can also upload prompts and have students reply within O‐Space. Instructors can also send out announcements to students. If there is an assignment an instructor grades using the O‐Space gradebook, that assignment is uploaded as a post first.
 
Professional Portfolio
A Professional Portfolio is a specific genre of e‐portfolios. It is a collection of both visual and written work that provides an opportunity for students to exhibit their work for public viewing to support applications for employment, residencies, advanced education, or awards, etc. 
 
Reflection
Reflective thinking develops higher‐order thinking skills such as the ability to apply new knowledge to problem solve, adapt, and grow. In addition, reflection helps you to frame your education and thinking in a strategic way: “Reflection … challenges students to use critical thinking to examine presented information, question its validity, and draw conclusions based on the resulting ideas” (Intime: Integrating New Technologies Into the Methods of Education). Reflection is not only done in written form but can be done in other multimedia platforms from podcasting to music to videos.
 
Rubric
A Rubric is an explicit summary of the criteria for assessing a particular piece of student work, plus levels of potential achievement for each criterion. A rubric is specific to each assignment and is used by faculty for grading.
 
Save vs Publish
Save allows one to save work in draft form. Publish makes the work viewable to the public.
 
Submissions
In an O‐Space course there is a tab called “Submissions”. In this area of your O-Space course, faculty can create a submission which will direct you to upload coursework. Once this coursework is submitted, it can be used as evidence of fulfilling a course/department Learning Outcome.
 
Upload
This means submit material onto a Learning Portfolio or into an O‐Space course.
 
Template
Organizational structure selected when creating an e‐portfolio.

ePortfolio Usage

E-portfolios are a feature of O-Space (online learning management system) and are currently in active use by many students and faculty on the Otis College Campus. To date, O-Space contains over 1,000 e-portfolios. These e-portfolios have been self-initiated, assigned in classes, used as professional e-portfolios, and/or are required as part of a particular program.

The use of Learning ePortfolios was beta-tested in select courses in Liberal Arts and Sciences in 2008-09, and was launched as an initiative in 2009-10 for all incoming foundation students in their Liberal Arts and Sciences courses.
 
Currently, Otis is in the process of college-wide implementation of Learning ePortfolios across all departments, including studio and major areas as well as co-curricular activities.


e-Portfolio/Learning e-Portfolio Timeline

  • 2006-07, ePortfolios were available as part of O-Space, and beta-tested with Artists, Community, and Teaching (A.C.T.) courses.
  • 2008-09, Liberal Arts and Sciences beta tested the use of Learning ePortfolios in select courses: the first year Honors Art History course, and two senior Capstone beta courses.
  • March 2009, Admissions offered ePortfolios as an option for portfolio submissions.
  • 2009-10, Learning ePortfolios are a requirement in Liberal Arts and Sciences starting with the first year courses. Foundation and Product Design programs are beta-testing the use of a learning ePortfolios in select studio courses.
  • 2010-11, Learning ePortfolios are a required element in all Foundation and Sophomore Liberal Arts and Sciences courses. Students in their studio majors, use their Learning ePortfolio in at least one course.
  • 2011-12, Learning ePortfolios are a required element in all Foundation, Sophomore and Junior Liberal Arts and Sciences courses. Capstone courses are required for all Seniors in which the Learning ePortfolio platform is used.
  • 2012-13, Learning ePortfolios are a required element in all Liberal Arts and Sciences courses as well as posting of Signature Assignment.
  • 2013-14, use of Learning ePortfolios continues in courses.
  • 2014-15, Academic Departments begin using Learning ePortfolios as part of assessment.
  • 2016-17, Student and Faculty Learning Centers use ePortfolios for onboarding/training programs for tutors and new faculty.

Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | Otis Dashboard

Help | IT and Help Desk | Contact Helpdesk