Skip to main content

The Nest is Otis College's Learning Management System (LMS).

It should serve as the virtual hub for all course content, instruction, and communication.


Check the Otis College Dashboard for Nest training sessions.


Unable to attend live training?

Watch The Nest: Introduction for Faculty/Instructors video [0:29:00]

 

August Workshops

August Training/Workshop Schedule

The August training/workshops below are scheduled for 1 hour and will be conducted remotely via Zoom: https://otis.zoom.us/my/otistlc. These training/workshops are not sequential and can be taken a la carte. You are welcome to join as many sessions as you wish.

We ask you come with questions and concerns so we can address during these sessions as well.

Monday 3rd - Friday 7th:

Every day this week:

  • @ 5:00pm - Advanced Nest Training - [led by Jean-Marie]
    • Covers: Course Toolbox, Coursework, Discussion boards, Grades + Rubrics, Groups
  • @ 6:00pm - Beginning Nest Training - (except on Wed. the 5th) [led by Jean-Marie]
    • Covers: Navigation, Course Homepage, Content, and Communication (Emails + Announcements)

Friday 7th:

  • @ 10:00am - Introduction To Microsoft 365 Apps - [led by Jean-Marie]
    • Covers: Teams, Bookings, MyAnalytics, and more . . .
  • @ 11:00am - Introduction To Microsoft 365 Apps - [led by Jean-Marie]

Monday 10th - Friday 14th:

Every day this week:

  • @ 5:00pm - Making Online Courses Accessible - [led by Jean-Marie]
    • Covers: guides and tools in the Nest to ensure your class is accessible for all types of learners
  • @ 6:00pm - Online Teaching Best Practices - [led by Jean-Marie]
    • Includes: strategies for presenting content, effective organization and structures, synchronous (live) vs asynchronous contact

Monday 17th - Friday 21st:

Every day this week:

  • @ 11:00am - Building an Anti-Racist Classroom - [led by Natalie]
  • @ 2:30pm - Building An Online Community - [led by Natalie]
    • Includes: Connecting with students + remote community engagement.
  • @ 5:00pm - Beginning Nest Training (except on Wed. the 5th) - [led by Jean-Marie]
  • @ 6:00pm - Advanced Nest Training - [led by Jean-Marie]

Convocation Week:

  • Monday 24th @ 3:00pm and @ 4:00pm - Managing an Online Class - [led by Jean-Marie and Natalie]
    • Includes: how to monitor student work for authenticity, synchronous group work, working with students in different locations
  • Tuesday 25th @ 4:00p and @ 5:00pm - Key Tools: Learn About Zoom - [led by Jean-Marie Venturini]
    • Covers: the basics and helpful features in zoom you may not even know existed
  • Wednesday 26th @ 3:00pm and @ 5:00pm- Key Tools: Learn About G-Drive - [led by Jean-Marie and Natalie]
    • Covers: the basics and strategies for usage with classes, including online critique
  • Thursday 27th @ 2:00pm and @ 3:00pm - Key Tools: Learn About MS Teams - [led by Jean-Marie and Natalie]
    • Covers: the basics and how could help support instruction
  • Friday 28th @ 2:00pm and @ 3:00pm - Key Tools: Learn About the Dashboard + Otis Email - [led by Jean-Marie and Natalie]
    • Covers: the basics, navigation, features, and set-up/customization

Parent Company

The Nest is hosted on the Brightspace platform powered by Desire2Learn (D2L).

Learning Management System Policy

Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | Otis Dashboard

Help | IT and Help Desk | Contact Helpdesk