Researching COVID-19
COVID-19, Vaccines, and Pandemics
-
World Health Organization (WHO) COVID-19 Hub Gathers information and statistics from around the world. Also links to scientific research.
-
Coronavirus (COVID-19) The Center for Disease Control's (CDC) information hub
-
Coronavirus for Researchers Gathers scientific research data and findings, made available by SpringerNature
-
LAist's coverage on COVID-19 Gathers together LAist's coverage of the pandemic, vaccines and their impact on Los Angeles.from 2020 to today
-
Selected COVID-19-related Articles on JSTOR Free access through June 2021 to over 6,000 articles
-
Pandemics: The Invisible Enemy Curated free content from Salem Press & Grey House Publishing to explore current events through an historical lens
-
A Poor People’s Pandemic Report: Mapping the Intersections of Poverty, Race and COVID-19 Digital Report and StoryMap. Crises do not unfold independent of the conditions from which they arise. The COVID-19 pandemic exacerbated preexisting social and economic disparities that have long festered in the US. Widespread and unequal distribution of wealth, income and resources prior to the pandemic created the conditions for many of the negative outcomes associated with the virus.
Helpful Research Databases
-
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
For information on various sides of social issues. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. TOPIC FINDER
-
eLibrary This link opens in a new window
Guided Research Topic interface. Full-text of 1,500 international magazines and newspapers (including The Wall Street Journal), company profiles, news transcripts, and encyclopedias.
-
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
General reference multidisciplinary. Full text with graphics. Overall dates of coverage: 1971 - present. Total titles covered: 2,600+. -
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Expanded access is now permanent. Access over 54,000 books and 2,600 journals from scholarly publishers across the fields of literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, art and architecture, and more.
Go to the full list of databases
Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | MyOtis
Millard Sheets Library | MyOtis | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian