HM Sociology
HN Social history and reform movements
N430-435 Art museums and the public
N6494 I56 Installation art
N6494 B63; NX456.5 P38; NX600 P47 Performance art
N8825+ Public art
NA9050.5-NA9053+ Public architecture, public space
ND2550+ Mural painting
NX180 A77 Artists and community
NX180 P64 Arts in relation to politics
NX180 S6 Arts in relation to society, culture
PN4193 I5 Storytelling
Search by Subjects:
Community arts projects
Public art
Artists and community
Performance art
Installations (Art)
Politics in art
Feminist art
Activist art
Public Art Review. Minneapolis: Forecast Public Art--also available online
TDR: The Drama Review: The Journal of Performance Studies. Cambridge: MIT Press
Beautiful Trouble by 
The Citizen Artist by
Includes material about: David Avalos, Judith Baca, Nancy Buchanan, Robie Conal, Felipe Ehrenberg, Karen Finley, Anna Halprin, Helen Mayer Harrison & Newton Harrison, Guillermo Gomez Pena, Suzanne Lacy, Linda Montano, Richard Posner, Rachel Rosenthal, Andres Serrano, Bonnie Sherk, Mierle Laderman Ukeles, Luis Valdez and others.
New Creative Community by
An inspiring, foundational book that defines the burgeoning field of community cultural development. Through personal stories, rousing accounts, detailed observation and histories, Arlene Goldbard describes how communities express and develop themselves via the creative arts. This comprehensive, photographically-illustrated book, which covers community-based arts such as theater grounded in oral history and murals celebrating cultural heritage, will appeal to the curious non-specialist reader as well as the practitioner and student. Author Arlene Goldbard is one of the best-known authors on community cultural development. Her seminal books and essays are widely read in the US and other English-speaking countries -- among them, Community, Culture and Globalization and this book's antecedent, Creative Community. Arlene Goldbard is a writer, social activist, and consultant who works for justice, compassion, and honor in every sphere, from the interpersonal to the transnational.
Leaving Art by 
Mapping the Terrain by 
Creative Arts in Research for Community and Cultural Change by
Creative Arts in Research for Community and Cultural Change features illustrative articles describing the creative arts in research and practice within neighbourhoods, villages, and cities for community and cultural change. In these times of desperate need and ongoing unrest internationally, this collection--featuring leaders across disciplines--is a valuable source of information as well as a call for creative new approaches in contemporary research leading to action and change. The articles in this book will be of special interest to university based educators; artists and researchers; facilitators; practitioners; educators in the social sciences; social work and social justice professionals; activists and community change agents; heritage, cultural, and urban planners; healthcare professionals and public health educators; fundraisers and many others. Creative Arts in Research for Community and Cultural Change is a research book that provides firsthand insights into evolving and participatory processes unique to the CAIP, as well as a wealth of information and examples for relevant in-depth dialogue and debate.
Doing Oral History by 
Everyday Practice of Public Art by
The Everyday Practice of Public Art: Art, Space, and Social Inclusionis a multidisciplinary anthology of analyses exploring the expansion of contemporary public art issues beyond the built environment. It follows the highly successful publication The Practice of Public Art(eds. Cartiere and Willis), and expands the analysis of the field with a broad perspective which includes practicing artists, curators, activists, writers and educators from North America, Europe and Australia, who offer divergent perspectives on the many facets of the public art process. The collection examines the continual evolution of public art, moving beyond monuments and memorials to examine more fully the development of socially-engaged public art practice. Topics include constructing new models for developing and commissioning temporary and performance-based public artworks; understanding the challenges of a socially-engaged public art practice vs. social programming and policymaking; the social inclusiveness of public art; the radical developments in public art and social practice pedagogy; and unravelling the relationships between public artists and the communities they serve. The Everyday Practice of Public Artoffers a diverse perspective on the increasingly complex nature of artistic practice in the public realm in the twenty-first century.
ARTocracy by 
Designing for Social Change by
This newest title in the design briefs series is a compact, hands-on guide for graphic design professionals who want to start helping communities and effectuating social change in the world. Author Andrew Shea presents ten strategies for successful community engagement, grounding each one in two real world case studies. The twenty projects featured in the book are by both design professionals and students and range from creating a map of services for the homeless community in Santa Monica, helping Chicago's Humboldt Park community by designing a website where donors can buy essential items for community members, to encouraging LA's Latina community to go for an annual PAP exam in an attempt to prevent cervical cancer through carefully designed posters, murals, and other material.Designing for Social Change is both an inspiration and a how-to book that encourages graphic designers everywhere to go out and do good with their work, providing them with the tools to complete successful projects in their communities.
Art in the Public Interest
Historic site and archive for the non-profit supporting community-based organization for the socially conscious.
The Brooklyn Rail: Critical Perspectives on Arts, Politics and Culture
...originating "in a borough that has long been a "Crucible" of artistic and political democracy...obliged to work in that tradition."
Center for the Arts in Society (Carnegie Mellon University)
"Through practice, publications, exhibitions, performances, and projects, artists and humanists examine the impact of arts on social change as well as the importance of historical events for the evolution of the arts. In courses, in programs for visiting scholars, and in sponsored research activities, the Center fosters interdisciplinary collaboration both within the University and between the University and arts and cultural organizations."
Community Arts Network -- "Promoting information exchange, research and critical dialogue within the field of community-based art"
Creative Capital Foundation
a New York City-based nonprofit organization; funds and promotes "artists who pursue innovation in form and/or content in the performing and visual arts, film and video, and in emerging fields"; provides advisory services and professional development assistance to recipients.
inSite
Network of contemporary art programs and commissioned projects that map the liminal border zone of San Diego-Tijuana.
Imagining America: Artists and Scholars in Public Life
"A national consortium of colleges and universities committed to public scholarship in the arts, humanities, and design.. joins serious intellectual endeavor with a commitment to public practice and public consequence." The org hosts an annual conference and the web site provides information on the consortium including news and events.
Just Seeds Artists' Cooperative
"a decentralized network of 24 artists committed to making print and design work that reflects a radical social, environmental, and political stance."
Open Engagement Conference
"...an annual, three-day, artist-led conference dedicated to expanding the dialogue around and creating a site of care for the field of socially engaged art. The conference highlights the work of transdisciplinary artists, activists, students, scholars, community members, and organizations working within the complex social issues and struggles of our time.Since 2007, OE has presented seven conferences in two countries and four cities, hosting over 1,300 presenters and over 5,000 attendees. Annual programming is selected by committees comprised of artists, educators, professionals, and community members from a free, open call for proposals.
Public Art Fund
New York's leading presenter of artists' projects, new commissions, and exhibitions in public spaces
Public Art in L.A.
Huge resource created by Ruth Wallach for the USC Libraries covering every aspect of the city's public art.
Public Art Network (Americans for the Arts)
Provides "services to the diverse field of public art and to develop strategies and tools to improve communities through public art." Site includes Year in Review artists projects images and descriptions (slides or cd's available), contact information for their Networking and Outreach program including the PAN listserv, Public Art Network summaries, and Research and Planning Tools. Distributes the Public Art Network Award presented at the annual conference; produces the Public Art Program Directory.
Public Art Review
Journal focused on exploring the many dimensions of public art. Complete run in the Otis Library.
Social Sculpture Research Unit (Oxford Brookes University, England)
" an interdisciplinary research and practice network inspiring new thinking, engagement and action in the field of social sculpture and related practices -- developing insights, methods and practices toward a humane and ecologically sustainable future -- creating opportunities for new forms of enquiry and transformative action in which we are creative participants -- supporting research on social sculpture and connective practices, including material on its influences and evolution -- connecting and contributing to the growing community of practitioners in social sculpture and related fields.
Vera List Center for Arts and Politics (The New School, NYC)
Organizes public events, forums, online programs, and occasional publications focusing on "cultural production that emerges within and outside the traditional art world and seeks to intervene in contemporary political debates." Each year focuses on a theme wherein the Center convenes "artists, scholars, activists, public intellectuals, and political and cultural leaders to examine this theme."
Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | MyOtis
Millard Sheets Library | MyOtis | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian