Otis College LibGuides: Statistics & Demographics: Online Resouces

Where to Find Statistical Data

You will come across statistical data everywhere - in the news, in advertising, in research analysis, and even in conversation.

Below are some good sources for statistical data, sometimes with analysis and commentary.

Opposing Viewpoints Database

Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
For information on various sides of social issues. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. TOPIC FINDER

Pew Research Center

Pew Research Center is a non-partisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions.

Research areas include:

United States Statistics and Demographics

US Census Bureau
Collects and disseminates data gathered from various surveys and instruments, including the Population Census conducted every 10 years.

Data.gov
Provides access to US federal open government data as well as data from state, local, and tribal governments.
American FactFinder
Provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Data for US, regional, state, local areas
CensusScope
Free interface into data and trends from the 2000, 1990, and 1980 censuses. Some newer and older data available.
Education Demographic and Geographic Estimates (EDGE)
Produced by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES.)
Economic Research Service (ERS): State Fact Sheets
Produced by the US Department of Agriculture, provides information on population, income, poverty, food security, education, employment, organic agriculture, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, top commodities, and agricultural exports. Links to available county-level data are included.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Find career information on duties, education and training, pay, and outlook for hundreds of occupations
Statistical Abstracts
Published annually from 1887-2012, it is the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
National Zoning Atlas
The National Zoning Atlas is a collaborative project digitizing, demystifying, & democratizing ~30,000 U.S. zoning codes. It was founded by Cornell University professor Sara Bronin and has involved over 300 zoning and geospatial analysts.
more...less...
February 2024: Does not include zoning laws for Los Angeles or Southern California

Los Angeles and California

California Demographics Reports
Research and analysis based on census data from 1990, 2000, and 2010.
Community Facts: Los Angeles County
Browse U.S. Census Bureau data for LA county in American FactFinder
LAPD Crime Mapping
Crime statistics searchable by type and location.
LAPL Business, Company & Consumer Information
Selected list of free resources on banking, real estate, companies, statistics, small businesses, and more, with a focus on California and Los Angeles.
Los Angeles County Department of Public Health - Data & Statistics
Browse all publicly available data
more...less...
Not available as HTTPS
Mapping LA Neighborhoods
Interactive map of Los Angeles neighborhoods, designed to be a tool for reporters and editors to be consistent when describing neighborhoods in news stories.
more...less...
Not available as HTTPS
York and Fig
Radio series and website. Deep dive into the gentrification and economic changes in Highland Park in 2015. Produced by the Wealth and Poverty Desk of Marketplace.

Tools

Alteryx Analytics Gallery
Analytics platform. Paid service with a free demo.
Statista
Statistics Portal where specialists manually analyze, audit and update each of their statistics. Sign up for a free account.