Try these search terms:
Art of the Book by
Despite critics' claims that technology has dealt a death-blow to the centuries old art form of book making, this volume proves that the bound book is indeed alive and well. A comprehensive guide to printed volumes, featuring not only finished projects but also the techniques and materials of book making, as well as definitions of the terminology.
New Book Design by
New Book Design showcases the most interesting, influential, and accomplished book designs from the last ten years.It features over 100 titles published around the world, each chosen for their outstanding design qualities, from the publications of large mainstream publishers to those of small independent companies -- and even those from individual artists. Included in its pages are lavishly produced books with unconventional formats and unusual print techniques as well as less flamboyant publications produced for various different markets. A wide variety of books are featured, from paperback novels to architectural monographs, from text-based to profusely-illustrated books. Divided into four main sections -- "Packaging," "Navigation," "Layout," and "Specification" -- the book examines each facet of book design: cover design; contents and structure; image usage; grids; typography; paper; printing; and binding. Clear photography captures each featured book, and interviews with prominent book designers, art directors, and publishers provide extra insight. New Book Design is sure to provide a rich source of inspiration to book designers and bibliophiles alike.
Typography Sketchbooks by
Features pages from the sketchbooks of over 90 designers and typographers, illustrating the expressive, visual appeal of letters and words.
The Elements of Typographic Style by
As noted by the publisher, this classic guide "is a thoughtful and insightful, fresh and yet authoritative desktop reference for everyone who works with written words."
Publish Your Photography Book by
We live in the golden age of the photography book. Since the early 1990s, the number of photography book publishers has continued to grow while technological developments have placed more tools for bookmaking directly in the hands of photographers. For the students and working artists who have chosen photography as their primary means of expression, having their own photography book is seen as a passport to the international photography scene. Yet, few have more than a tentative grasp of the component parts of a book, an understanding of what they want to express, or the know-how needed to get a book published. Publish Your Photography Book is the first book to demystify the process of producing and publishing a book of photographs. Industry insiders Darius D. Himes and Mary Virginia Swanson survey the current landscape of photography book publishing and point out the many avenues to pursue and pitfalls to avoid. This expert guide is organized in six sections covering the rich history of the photo book; anoverview of the publishing industry; an intimate look at the process of making a book; a close review of how to market aphoto book; a section on case studies, built around discussions and interviews with published photographers; and a final section presenting a wealth of resources and information to aid in the understanding of the publishing world. Publish Your Photography Book also includes a number of additional interviews and contributions from industry professionals, including artists, publishers, designers, packagers, editors, and other industry experts who openly share their publishing experiences.
500 Handmade Books Volume 2 by
Everyone who loved the original 500 Handmade Books will eagerly dip into this visually dynamic follow-up. Offering 500 stunning new creations by an international roster of artists, it showcases the unlimited creative possibilities of books as objects and as sculptural pieces. Along with traditional, richly embellished volumes, boundary-pushing works unfurl, scroll, and flip; feature improbable materials like metal, fabric, wood, and glass; and include lush, handcrafted papers.
False Flat by
An extensive and timely survey of innovative contemporary design in the Netherlands: always verging on the experimental and recognized universally as a melting-pot of cutting-edge twenty-first century creativity. This overview features work by Rem Koolhaas, MVRDV, Ben van Berkel & Caroline Bos, Marcel Wanders, Petra Blaisse, and Jop van Bennekom, among others. 1,000 images offer a visual sourcebook of Dutch design in all forms including architecture, urban planning, industrial design and graphic design.
Inside Outside by
This first extensive survey of the work of Petra Blaisse, the internationally known Dutch garden and interior designer, comes at the right time. Blaisse, who has been collaborating with Rem Koolhaas's Office for Metropolitan Architecture and other major architectural concerns for many years, just finished her largest and best-known project in the U.S., the much-lauded Seattle Public Library's gardens and interior. A "library" of local plant life surrounds the building, and a tiled carpet designed after a garden leads patrons in. Blaisse is passionate about uniting interior and exterior space. She sees them as continuous, and says of her unusual synergy of design roles, that "They are totally different professions, yet they are completely connected: open the window and the garden comes in, the curtain comes out." Her work, situated in the margin between design and architecture, indicates new directions and possibilities for each field. A conversation between Blaisse and curator Kayoko Ota runs throughout Inside Outside, while the balance of the book documents 20 projects ranging from contained interior interventions to larger landscape designs, each described in photography, sketches and drawings.
Design and the Elastic Mind by
In the past few decades, individuals have experienced dramatic changes in some of the most established dimensions of human life: time, space, matter, and individuality. Minds today must be able to synthesize such transformations, whether they are working across several time zones, travelling between satellite maps and nanoscale images, drowning in information, or acting fast in order to preserve some slow downtime. Design and the Elastic Mind focuses on designers ability to grasp momentous advances in technology, science and social mores and convert them into useful objects and systems. The projects included range from nanodevices to vehicles, appliances to interfaces and building facades, pragmatic solutions for everyday use to provocative ideas meant to influence our future choices. Designed by award-winning book designer Irma Boom, this volume also features essays by Paola Antonelli; design critic and historian Hugh Aldersey- Williams; visualization design expert Peter Hall; and nanophysicist Ted Sargent that further explore the promising relationship between design and science.
Every Thing Design by
The great Dutch book designer Irma Boom designed this handsome, hefty gem, which features 700 prints, posters and other objects from the collection of Zurich's Gestaltung Museum. It is a collection renowned worldwide for its unsurpassed holdings of design masterpieces: Ettore Sottsass's iconic red "Valentine" typewriter from 1969, Paul Rand's 1950 poster for the film No Way Out, as well as graphic works by Toulouse-Lautrec and El Lissitzky, and a range of works by Richard Paul Lohse, Harry Bertoia, Willy Guhl, Makoto Saito, FHK Henrion and many other great designers. Founded in 1875, the museum's collection focuses on twentieth-century mass-manufactured products, comprising over 10,000 objects and 20,000 examples of packaging, from famous designs to anonymous everyday objects; a graphics collection containing over 100,000 items from around the world, dating from the fifteenth century to the present; a collection of 300,000 posters and an applied arts collection, showcasing work from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries that covers the overlap between industrial manufacturing, design and art. With beautiful, full-page spreads, Every Thing Design, like the Gestaltung Museum itself, expands our conceptions of what design is, unpacking how a designed object is perceived and how this perception changes over time. It examines the criteria museums use for acquisition, and how the objects' significance and value are established. The result is a surprising reconsideration of trends, production techniques and public reception.
Hella Jongerius - Misfit by
Hella Jongerius: Misfit, is the second Phaidon monograph on Dutch product designer Hella Jongerius (1963). The book exhibits Jongerius’ work in detail and discusses her unique aesthetic; a fusion of industry and craft, high and low tech, traditional and contemporary. The book has been written and designed in collaboration with Jongerius, it includes all of her work and has contributions from three experts on contemporary product deisgn, Louise Schouwenberg, Paola Antonelli and Alice Rawsthorn. It is illustrated with over 350 photographs and has been designed by renowned graphic designer Irma Boom. There will also be a collector’s edition, available in specially designed packaging and accompanied by a limited edition vase designed by Jongerius and manufactured by Royal Tichelaar Makkum.
Vision in Design by
The first book about how to formulate a vision for new and appropriate products.
Olafur Eliasson by
This striking catalog, designed by Irma Boom, showcases the spectacular work of world-renowned contemporary artist Olafur Eliasson. Contact, Olafur Eliasson's inaugural exhibition at the Fondation Louis Vuitton in Paris, addresses the themes of light--or rather, darkness and shadows--space, and time in installations that create a visceral experience for the spectator. The book features critical essays, an interview between the artist and curators, and sketches and preparatory drawings. It showcases the artist's works in full color on black paper, emphasizing the luminosity of the show, accentuating the interplay of shadow and light, and rendering this volume a collectible artist's book.
Some of the books designed by Dutch designer Irma Boom that can be checked out
Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | MyOtis
Millard Sheets Library | MyOtis | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian