How to Make Books by
From zines you can fold in a minute to luxurious leather journals and sumptuous sketchbooks, How to Make Books will walk you through the easy basics of bookmaking. Whether you’re a writer, a scrapbooker, a political activist, or a postcard collector, let book artist Esther K. Smith be your guide as you discover your inner bookbinder. Using foolproof illustrations and step-by-step instructions, Smith reveals her time-tested techniques in a fun, easy-to-understand way.
Making Handmade Books by
In the digital world, books may seem like an endangered species, but bookmaking is more popular than ever. Thanks to the 100 ideas in this volume, the craft is now available to everyone. In as little as an afternoon, beginners will be on their way to folding, gluing, and sewing handmade books in a variety of shapes and styles, from rolled scrolls to Jacob's ladders, folded flexagons to case bindings. Complete with photographs of the author's own master books and statements by more than 40 established book artists, this collection is sure to inspire. Culled from the author's best-selling books Creating Handmade Books, Unique Handmade Books, and Expressive Handmade Books, these projects will fuel bookbinding adventures for years to come.
Mixed-Media Books by
Gabe Cyr, a recognized leader in the altered-book community, is a strong advocate of the creative possibilities of this craft. Here, Gabe not only explains the basic techniques to newcomers, she also broadens the topic and finds exciting new ways to transform a simple book into a unique art object using a wide range of media. The 15 inventive ideas include books that are turned into functional objects, such as clocks or picture frames. Other projects reinvent traditional book forms and shapes, such as the accordion and circle design. Inspiring examples of collaborative altered books and round-robins are also included.
Penland Book of Handmade Books by
Every year Penland, the innovative school where crafters from around the world come to hone their skills, offers a master class in the art of bookmaking that's simply without equal. Now it's available to everyone, in a technical and inspirational guide that showcases 10 contemporary book artists who have taught at the institution. ... Reflective essays by all the artists add to the creative excitement visible on every page and in every spectacular project.
Bookforms by
With Bookforms, learn an array of traditional and contemporary hand-bookbinding methods from around the world from the instructors at the Center for Book Arts.
The Art of the Fold by
"The influential artist Hedi Kyle and renowned architecture graduate Ulla Warchol shows you how to create their unique designs using folding techniques. From creating flag books and fishbones, to blizzards and nesting boxes, you'll gain an invaluable insight into the work of two skilled artists with this fun read! With the help of their thorough instructions and simple illustrations, you'll be on your way to becoming a pro paper crafter in no time at all" -Sew magazine "A wonderful insight into the work of a truly skilled artist" - PaperCrafter The renowned and influential book artist Hedi Kyle shows you step-by-step how to create her unique designs using folding techniques in The Art of the Fold. Bookbinding and paper craft projects include flag books, blizzard books, the fishbone fold, and nesting boxes. Written by the doyenne of artists' books, Hedi Kyle,The Art of the Fold is a wonderful insight into the work of a truly skilled artist. Hedi will show you how to bind a book and fold paper to create over 35 of her cut-fold book designs. The book is beautifully illustrated with Hedi's finished works of art. An excerpt from the book: 'I can still remember the thrill I experienced when my first folded book structure emerged from my fingers - how eager I was to explore its possibilities and to share it with whoever was interested. The Flag Book, as I now call it, is a simple accordion and has interlocking pages oriented in opposite directions. Little did I know that this simple structure would have legs and be the catalyst for the next forty-plus years of thinking about and making books. The common perception of the book today is fairly straightforward: a series of pages organized around a spine and protected on either side by two covers. This format allows for easy access, storage and retrieval of information. Yet what happens when the book is stripped away of centuries of preconceptions and is allowed to reveal something else: playfulness, utility, invention? Expanding the notion of the book is what the structures in the following chapters ofThe Art of the Fold attempt to do. Exploring its tactile, sculptural form, primarily through folding methods, the book as a structural object is celebrated while content is considered in a new and unconventional way. My range in this medium has always been broad. In part this is due to my introduction to the world of bookbinding and some chance encounters. In the 1970s in New York City, the art and craft of hand bookbinding and papermaking were experiencing an unprecedented revival. I was fortunate to arrive in the city at just this moment. With an art-school background and an impulse to make things, I was naturally drawn to pursue this new opportunity. The Center for Book Arts, the famous forerunner of so many centers yet to come, was located in a small storefront just down the street from where I lived on the Lower East Side of Manhattan. Under the direction of founder Richard Minsky, it had a radical mission: to push concept, materials, printing and making of artist books in a new direction. When Richard dared me to teach at the Center one evening a week, I was hooked. My career as a book conservator and a book artist has now spanned over 45 years. As head conservator at the American Philosophical Society in Philadelphia, I've had the opportunity to handle some of the rarest volumes and manuscripts in the world. I have also dealt with decrepit books, torn maps and countless curiosities discovered in stacks and archives. All were endless sources for ideas and provided a springboard for a departure from tradition. Leading book-arts workshops around theworld and a 25 year tenure teaching in the graduate program for Book Arts and Printmaking at the University of the Arts in Philadelphia have shown me, in retrospect, that the more I taught, t
Letterpress Now: A DIY Guide to New & Old Printing Methods by
Provides information about how to operate tabletop platen, full-size platen, and cylinder presses.
Creating Artists' Books by
Famous artists from David Hockney and Andy Warhol to Gilbert and George have created their own books--distinctive bound collections of work, sometimes variations on the popular altered-book craze. Now any artist can follow in the booksteps of these well-known muses, with the help of Creating Artists' Books. Author Sarah Bodman, an expert on artists' books, gives wonderful inspiration and practical guidance on printmaking processes for making books, digital output and computer-based books, assembling books with limited resources, and creating altered books. An invaluable appendix lists bookstores and galleries that sell and exhibit artists' book; book arts collections, archives, and organizations; book fairs; related Web sites; and more. Creating Artists' Books is packed with ideas, inspiration, and information from cover to cover.
Anatomy of a book by
Originally produced in 1991, The anatomy of a book discusses book format and format identification in regard to books printed on the hand press on hand-made paper. The making of a Renaissance book covers cutting a type punch; making a copper strike and justifying the matrix; casting and dressing the type; composition, imposition and proof-reading; inking and running off the sheets; stop-press corrections. Also available on YouTube
Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | MyOtis
Millard Sheets Library | MyOtis | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian
