The Dragon Slayer: Folktales from Latin America by
How would a kitchen maid fare against a seven-headed dragon? What happens when a woman marries a mouse? And what can a young man learn from a thousand leaf cutter ants? Famed Love and Rockets creator Jaime Hernandez asks these questions and more as he transforms beloved myths into bold, stunning, and utterly contemporary comics. Guided by the classic works of F. Isabel Campoy and Alma Flor Ada, Hernandez's first book for young readers brings the sights and stories of Latin America to a new generation of graphic-novel fans around the world.
The Silk Tapestry and other Chinese folktakes by
Three Chinese folk tales revolving around the unique struggle of artists. An old woman, a young boy and a wild spirit are all bound by a passion to create, changing the world around them forever. In Silk Tapestry', an impoverished elderly woman's hope against a life of hardship lies in the completion of a magical tapestry. In 'Sausage boy and his Magic Brush', a young boy's remarkable talent for paintings that come to life attracts a greedy woman. In 'The Creation Myth of Pan Gu', a lonely but wild spirit sculpts the Earth from a cosmic egg in a bid for popularity.'
Riddles, Folktales and Proverbs from Cameroon by
In the olden days, after a day's work in the farms, children and parents returned home feeling worn out. As a sort of evening entertainment, children of the same family, compound or village then gathered round a story-teller to listen to folk tales and riddles. This was common in every African home. The listeners participate with joy by joining in the songs and choruses. Sometimes the children were given the opportunity to tell stories that they had known while the adult story-teller listened attentively in order to add more details where necessary. In telling these stories and riddles, children were expected to learn something through all those activities connected with the customs, environment, language and religious practices of their people. This book provides children with stories, riddles and some proverbs that parents ought to have told their children at home but have failed because of their present-day busy schedules. Teachers will fill that vacuum at school as they guide the children in reading the stories, riddles and proverbs in their second language - English. As an instructional tool, this collection will foster literacy, promote cultural awareness and create situations where learners share with one another their personal experiences and traditions.
Vidokoni : folktales from Mzimba, Malawi by
This book makes a rare contribution towards the preservation and promotion of ukhaliro wa bene Malawi (Malawian culture) that is fast waning. The book is a collection of twenty short stories that generally promote such themes as nkharo yiwemi (good behaviour); uheni wa chigolo na sanje (the bad side of selfishness and jealousy); kulimbikira pa vinthu (hard working spirit); and uheni wa mitala (the folly of polygamy), among others.
World Flutelore by
In many places around the world, flutes and the sounds of flutes are powerful magical forces for seduction and love, protection, vegetal and human fertility, birth and death, and other aspects of human and nonhuman behavior. This book explores the cultural significance of flutes, flute playing, and flute players from around the world as interpreted from folktales, myths, and other stories--in a word, ""flutelore."" A scholarly yet readable study, World Flutelore: Folktales, Myths, and Other Stories of Magical Flute Power draws upon a range of sources in folklore, anthropology, ethnomusicology, and literary analysis. Describing and interpreting many examples of flutes as they are found in mythology, poetry, lyrics, and other narrative and literary sources from around the world, veteran ethnomusicologist Dale Olsen seeks to determine what is singularly distinct or unique about flutes, flute playing, and flute players in a global context. He shows how and why flutes are important for personal, communal, religious, spiritual, and secular expression and even, perhaps, existence. This is a book for students, scholars, and any reader interested in the cultural power of flutes.
Folktales of Egypt by
In this book Hasan M. El-Shamy has gathered the first authentic new collection of modern Egyptian folk narratives to appear in nearly a century. El-Shamy's English translations of these orally presented stories not only preserve their spirit, but give Middle Eastern lore the scholarly attention it has long deserved. "This collection of seventy recently collected Egyptian tales is a major contribution to African studies and to international distribution studies of folktales. In the face of the recent anthropological trend to use folkloric materials for extra-folkloric purposes, the preeminence of the text must be asserted once more, and these are obviously authentic, straightforwardly translated, fully documented as to date of collection and social category of informant, and for all that . . . readable."--Daniel J. Crowley, Research in African Literatures "Western knowledge of virtually all facets of contemporary Egyptian culture, much less the roots of that culture, is woefully inadequate. By providing an interesting, varied, and readable collection of Egyptian folktales and offering clear and sensible accounts of their background and meaning, this book renders a valuable service indeed."--Kenneth J. Perkins, International Journal of Oral History
Mirror, Mirror by
"Looking glass upon the wall Who is fairest of them all?" --From "Snow White" (German Folktale) Jane Yolen has long been hailed as one of the finest authors in storytelling today. Her bestselling children's books, along with her anthology Favorite Folktales Around the World, have garnered her critical acclaim and awards for two decades. Now, she teams up with her daughter in Mirror, Mirror, a rich and diverse--and very adult--celebration of the mother/daughter bond that spans generations and cultures.In this collection of forty folktales from the well-known "Snow White" (Germany) and "Cinderella" (France) to the the lesser known "Mirabella" (Portugal) and tales from Sudan, Palestine, Africa, China, and Italy, Mirror, Mirror pays tribute to every kind of mother/daughter story. We meet strong mothers, obsessive mothers, doting mothers, and the quintessential wicked stepmothers. Complete with a personal commentary from Yolen and Stemple that accompanies each group of tales, Mirror, Mirror is perfect for mother/daughter reading groups and the ultimate gift for Mother's Day and all year-round.
In Quest of Indian Folktales by
In Quest of Indian Folktales publishes for the first time a collection of northern Indian folktales from the late 19th century. Reputedly the work of William Crooke, a well-known folklorist and British colonial official, the tales were actually collected, selected, and translated by a certain Pandit Ram Gharib Chaube. In 1996, Sadhana Naithani discovered this unpublished collection in the archive of the Folklore Society, London. Since then, she has uncovered the identity of the mysterious Chaube and the details of his collaboration with the famous folklorist. In an extensive four-chapter introduction, Naithani describes Chaube's relationship to Crooke and the essential role he played in Crooke's work, as both a native informant and a trained scholar. By unearthing the fragmented story of Chaube's life, Naithani gives voice to a new identity of an Indian folklore scholar in colonial India. The publication of these tales and the discovery of Chaube's role in their collection reveal the complexity of the colonial intellectual world and problematize our own views of folklore in a postcolonial world.
Maya Folktales from the Alta Verapaz by
The dozen tales in this book were collected from Guatemalan informants early in the twentieth century recorded in the words of the storytellers. They come down to us unfiltered by anthropologists, writers, or professional folklorists. The tales make up a fascinating collection that informs in significant and creative ways how the Maya view their world and how they were engaged with the greater world around them in insightful and often humorous ways. They offer transformations, ogres, anthropomorphic animals, mountains and caves, and supernatural explanations for natural phenomena, along with the origins of modes of dress and behavior, medical rituals, and tales that carry folk interpretations of the Popul Vuh, the ancient Maya creation myth. Elin C. Danien's introductory essay includes biographical information about the collectors, suggestions of pre-Columbian roots for the tales, and a history of the previous restricted publication. Her explanations of cultural behavior enhance the human qualities of the actors without transgressing the storytellers. The early date of these tales makes the book extremely unusual and fresh.
Her Stories: African American folktales, fairy tales, and true tales by
Gracefully told by Newbery Medalist Virginia Hamilton, this collection of 19 stories focuses on the magical lore and wondrous imaginings of Black women.Vibrant paintings by Caldecott Medallists Leo and Diane Dillon glow with the drama and mystery of each tale while reflecting the warmth and beauty of the people who first told them.
American Folktales by
This two-volume collection of folktales represents some of the finest examples of American oral tradition. Drawn from the largest archive of American folk culture, the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress, this set comprises magic tales, legends, jokes, tall tales and personal narratives, many of which have never been transcribed before, much less published, in a sweeping survey. Eminent folklorist and award-winning author Carl Lindahl selected and transcribed over 200 recording sessions - many from the 1920s and 1930s - that span the 20th century, including recent material drawn from the September 11 Project. Included in this varied collection are over 200 tales organized in chapters by storyteller, tale type or region, and representing diverse American cultures, from Appalachia and the Midwest to Native American and Latino traditions. Each chapter begins by discussing the storytellers and their oral traditions before presenting and introducing each tale, making this collection accessible to high school students, general readers or scholars.
The Three Boys and Other Buddhist Folktales from Tibet by
A virtuous young woman journeys to the Land of the Dead to retrieve the still-beating heart of a king; a wily corpse-monster tricks his young captor into setting him free; a king falls under a curse that turns him into a cannibal; a shepherd who understands the speech of animals saves a princess from certain death. These are just a few of the wondrous tales that await readers of this collection of Tibetan Buddhist folktales. Fifteen stories are told for modern readers in a vivid, accessible style that reflects a centuries-old tradition of storytelling in the monasteries and marketplaces of Tibet.
Folktales of Joha, Jewish Trickster by
Joha has Janus's double face: On the one hand, he is innocent and stupid; on the other, a trickster. He is a cheater and is cheated. He sets traps for others and falls into traps himself; he is simpleton and liar, victimizer and victim. But as a literary figure he never dies. The nearly 300 stories in this lovely volume are from Sephardic oral literature and ethnic culture. They were told to Matilda Koen-Sarano in their original language, Judeo-Spanish (Ladino), and documented over 21 years. From 17 countries, including the United States, they come together in this first-ever collection of Joha stories to appear in English. Known in some places as Ladino, Judeo-Spanish is a living remnant of the Spanish spoken by the Spanish Jews at the end of the 15th century.
Hans Christian Andersen's Fairy Tales by
Hans Christian Andersen's fairy tales are known for appealing characters who overcome adversity, making the stories accessible to readers of all ages. From "Thumbelina" and "The Princess and the Pea" to "The Little Mermaid" and "The Traveling Companion," these 18 tales are not only entertaining but enlightening too. Included are 26 full-page color drawings by acclaimed illustrators Arthur Rackham, W. Heath Robinson, and Harry Clarke--along withdozens of pen-and-ink images--that add a soft artistic touch to the stories, making this volume a treasured keepsake.
The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm by
When Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm published their Children's and Household Tales in 1812, followed by a second volume in 1815, they had no idea that such stories as "Rapunzel," "Hansel and Gretel," and "Cinderella" would become the most celebrated in the world. Yet few people today are familiar with the majority of tales from the two early volumes, since in the next four decades the Grimms would publish six other editions, each extensively revised in content and style. For the very first time, The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm makes available in English all 156 stories from the 1812 and 1815 editions. These narrative gems, newly translated and brought together in one beautiful book, are accompanied by sumptuous new illustrations from award-winning artist Andrea Dezs#65533;. From "The Frog King" to "The Golden Key," wondrous worlds unfold--heroes and heroines are rewarded, weaker animals triumph over the strong, and simple bumpkins prove themselves not so simple after all. Esteemed fairy tale scholar Jack Zipes offers accessible translations that retain the spare description and engaging storytelling style of the originals. Indeed, this is what makes the tales from the 1812 and 1815 editions unique--they reflect diverse voices, rooted in oral traditions, that are absent from the Grimms' later, more embellished collections of tales. Zipes's introduction gives important historical context, and the book includes the Grimms' prefaces and notes. A delight to read, The Original Folk and Fairy Tales of the Brothers Grimm presents these peerless stories to a whole new generation of readers.
The Annotated Brothers Grimm by
Publication of the Grimms' Children's Stories and Household Tales in 1812 brought the great European oral folk tradition into print for the first time. The Annotated Brothers Grimm returns in a deluxe and augmented 200th-anniversary edition commemorating that landmark event. Adding to such favorites as "Cinderella," "Little Red Riding Hood," "Snow White," and "Rapunzel," Maria Tatar includes six new entries, among them "Four Clever Brothers," "The Water of Life," "The White Snake," and "The Old Man and His Grandson." The expanded edition features an enhanced selection of illustrations, many in color, by legendary artists such as George Cruikshank and Arthur Rackham; annotations that explore the historical origins, cultural context, and psychological effects of the tales; and a biographical essay on Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm. A perennial favorite in the acclaimed Norton Annotated series, this magnificent volume will draw both children and adults into the enchanting world of fairy tales.
The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales by
From its ancient roots in the oral tradition to the postmodernist reworkings of the present day, the fairy tale has retained its powerful hold over the cultural imagination of Europe and North America. Now The Oxford Companion to Fairy Tales provides the first authoritative reference source for this complex, captivating genre. With more than 800 entries written by a team of 67 specialists from around the world, the Companion offers an illuminating look at the classic tales themselves, both ancient and modern, from Jack and Jill and Cinderella to Alice in Wonderland and the Wizard of Oz. The contributors also profile the writers who wrote or reworked these luminous tales, as well as the illustrators, film-makers, choreographers, and composers who have been involved with creating or interpreting them. The Companion also covers such related topics as film, art, opera, ballet, music, even advertising. An introductory overview by Jack Zipes sets the subject in its historical and literary context, and special survey articles explore the development of the fairy-tale tradition in individual countries, focusing particularly on the European and North American traditions. The volume includes a detailed bibliography, to aid in further research into this fascinating topic. Strikingly illustrated with 70 beautiful pictures, from early engravings to 20th-century film stills, this is an essential companion for everyone who loves fairy tales and storytelling.
Fairy Tale as Myth, Myth as Fairy Tale by
" Explores the historical rise of the literary fairy tale as genre in the late seventeenth century. In his examinations of key classical fairy tales, Zipes traces their unique metamorphoses in history with stunning discoveries that reveal their ideological relationship to domination and oppression. Tales such as Beauty and the Beast, Snow White and the Seven Dwarves, and Rumplestiltskin have become part of our everyday culture and shapers of our identities. In this lively work, Jack Zipes explores the historical rise of the literary fairy tale as genre in the late seventeenth century and examines the ideological relationship of classic fairy tales to domination and oppression in Western society. The fairy tale received its most "mythic" articulation in America. Consequently, Zipes sees Walt Disney's Snow White as an expression of American male individualism, film and literary interpretations of L. Frank Baum's The Wizard of Oz as critiques of American myths, and Robert Bly's Iron John as a misunderstanding of folklore and traditional fairy tales. This book will change forever the way we look at the fairy tales of our youth.
Folk and Fairy Tales by
Just about everyone is familiar with folk and fairy tales. Children learn about them from parents, teachers, and other adults, while researchers study these tales at colleges and universities. At the same time, folk and fairy tales are inseparable from everyday life and popular culture. Movies, music, art, and literature offer imaginative retellings and interpretations of fairy and folk tales. But despite the pervasiveness of this folklore type, most people have only a vague understanding of these tales. This reference is a convenient introduction to folk and fairy tales for students and general readers. Written by a leading authority, this handbook offers a broad examination of folk and fairy tales as a folklore type. It looks at tales from around the world and from diverse cultures. The volume defines and classifies folk and fairy tales and analyzes a number of examples. It studies the varied manifestations of fairy and folk tales in literature and culture and reviews critical and scholarly approaches to this folklore genre. The volume also includes a glossary and extensive list of works for further reading.
Happily Ever After by
How have the relatively new media of film and television affected traditional storytelling and stories, particularly fairy tales. Zipes is concerned with the "commodification" of fairy tales, a la Disney, where the films are designed more to sell a line of toys and other products than to present a story to an audience. Zipes traces the use of fairy tales in the acculturation process through various time periods, emphasizing the importance of being cognizant of the process itself.
Once upon a Time by
Many of our most cherished childhood memories recall the pleasure of sitting in a big comfy chair while a doting parent reads from a lovingly illustrated picture book.Jack and the Bean Stalk,Little Red Riding Hood,Robinson Crusoethe colorful illustrations that decorated the pages of these stories remain forever captured in the minds eye. Once Upon a Time reawakens the joys of childhood reading, of seeing a story come alive in words and pictures on the printed pageand in our nascent imaginations. Drawing upon the extraordinary collection of Victorian-era illustrated books amassed by Arthur and Ellen Liman, it presents fairy tales and fables, nursery rhymes, instructional books, juvenile fiction, histories, and manners manuals. Created through a variety of illustration techniques and printing processes, most are beautifully colored. Many are also animated with moveable parts. These striking objects are accompanied by brief texts that place them within their era and illuminate the rise of children's literature in America as a cultural phenomenon related to the growth of literacy, an increase in leisure time, and an understanding of the "infant mind." The moral of this story: learning your ABCs can be a visual pleasure.
From the Beast to the Blonde: on fairy tales and their tellers by
Marina Warner interprets the history of old wives' tales from sibyls and the Queen of Sheba to Charles Perrault, the Brothers Grimm, and Angela Carter. And with fresh new insights she shows us the real-life themes in the famous stories, which, she suggests, are skillful vehicles by which adults have liked to convey advice, warning, and hope-to each other as well as to children. From the Beast to the Blonde considers old wives' tales in all their luxuriant detail and with a strong sense of the historical contexts in which they developed.
The Irresistible Fairy Tale by
If there is one genre that has captured the imagination of people in all walks of life throughout the world, it is the fairy tale. Yet we still have great difficulty understanding how it originated, evolved, and spread--or why so many people cannot resist its appeal, no matter how it changes or what form it takes. In this book, renowned fairy-tale expert Jack Zipes presents a provocative new theory about why fairy tales were created and retold--and why they became such an indelible and infinitely adaptable part of cultures around the world.
Postmodern Fairy Tales by
Postmodern Fairy Talesseeks to understand the fairy tale not as children's literature but within the broader context of folklore and literary studies. It focuses on the narrative strategies through which women are portrayed in four classic stories: "Snow White," "Little Red Riding Hood," "Beauty and the Beast," and "Bluebeard." Bacchilega traces the oral sources of each tale, offers a provocative interpretation of contemporary versions by Angela Carter, Robert Coover, Donald Barthelme, Margaret Atwood, and Tanith Lee, and explores the ways in which the tales are transformed in film, television, and musicals.
Fairy Tales Transformed? by
Fairy-tale adaptations are ubiquitous in modern popular culture, but readers and scholars alike may take for granted the many voices and traditions folded into today's tales. In "Fairy Tales Transformed?: Twenty-First-Century Adaptations and the Politics of Wonder," accomplished fairy-tale scholar Cristina Bacchilega traces what she terms a "fairy-tale web" of multivocal influences in modern adaptations, asking how tales have been changed by and for the early twenty-first century."
Boys and Girls Forever by
Are some of the world's most talented children's book authors essentially children themselves? In this engaging series of essays, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Alison Lurie considers this theory, exploring children's classics from many eras and relating them to the authors who wrote them, including Little Women author Louisa May Alcott and Wizard of Oz author Frank Baum, as well as Dr. Seuss and Salman Rushdie. Analyzing these and many others, Lurie shows how these gifted writers have used children's literature to transfigure sorrow, nostalgia, and the struggles of their own experiences.
The Singing Bones by
From the brilliant mind of Shaun Tan, Grimm's fairy tales as they've never been seen before! With an introduction by Jack Zipes, noted fairy tale historian and Grimm expert, Shaun Tan's latest is like a brilliant museum exhibition that leads readers through the tales of the Brothers Grimm accompanied by sculptures of incredible power and originality. Each spread pairs a short excerpt from the tale with a Tan sculpture. Fuller descriptions of the tales are included in the back matter, along with suggestions of where to read complete retellings. A must-buy for fans of Shaun Tan's work, and a beautiful gift for lovers of fairy tales and folklore.
Disabled Fables by
Fourteen Aesop's Fables are stunningly illustrated by developmentally disabled adults working at L.A. Goal, a program that provides training and work. Each artist tells how a particular fable relates to his or her own experiences.
Tales and Translation by
Dealing with the most translated work of German literature, the Tales of the brothers Grimm (1812-1815), this book discusses their history, notably in relation to Denmark and subsequently other nations from 1816 to 1986. The Danish intelligentsia responded enthusiastically to the tales and some were immediately translated into Danish by a nobleman and by the foremost Romantic poet. Their renditions remained in print for a century and embued the tales with high prestige. This book discusses translators, approaches, and other parameters such as copyright, and changes in target audiences. The tales' social acceptability inspired Hans Christian Andersen to write his celebrated fairytales. Combined, the Grimm and Andersen tales came to constitute the 'international fairytale'.This genre was born in processes of translation and, today, it is rooted more firmly in the world of translation than in national literatures. This book thus addresses issues of interest to literary, cross-cultural studies and translation.
Children's Literature by
Of all types of literature, children's literature is perhaps the best loved, most varied, and most subtly influential. This beautifully illustrated volume traces the history of children's literature in Britain, the USA, Canada, Australia and New Zealand, from the earliest printed books to thepresent day. It takes `children's literature' to mean books designed for children, as well as books of childhood, and so embraces everything from religious tracts to multi-media comics, from the `classic' to the unashamedly popular. Associate Editors: Dennis Butts; Ethol Heins; Margaret Kinnell; Tony Watkins Editorial Advisors: Louisa Smith; C. W. Sullivan III Contributors: Gillian Avery; Julia Briggs; Betty Gilderdale; Peter Hollindale; Anne Scott Macleod; Roderick McGillis; Michael Stone; Zena Sutherland
Children's Books and Their Creators by
Unique in its coverage of contemporary American children's literature, Children's Books and Their Creators is a timely single-volume reference covering the books our children are - or could be - reading now, from board books to young adult novels. Entries by nearly 200 experts inform and guide readers about every aspect of children's literature. What picture books best satisfy children's curiosity and capture their imaginations? When should children be introduced to science and poetry? Should parents worry if their teenagers read thrillers and comics? Children's Books and Their Creators includes overviews such as "Easy Readers," "Sports Stories," and "Holocaust Literature for Children," as well as entries on creators such as Judy Blume, Dr. Seuss, and Chris Van Allsburg. Reflecting the flourishing state of multicultural publishing, the book features contributions by and about Native American, African American, Latino, and Asian American writers, including Michael Dorris, Virginia Hamilton, Gary Soto, and Allen Say. This volume is enhanced by more than 175 illustrations in both black-and-white and color, featuring the work of Maurice Sendak, Edward Gorey, Robert McCloskey, David Macauley, and others.
Children's Picturebooks by
Children's picturebooks are the very first books we encounter, and they form an important, constantly evolving, and dynamic sector of the publishing world. But what does it take to create a successful picture book for children? In this publication, Martin Salisbury and Morag Styles introduce us to the world of children's picturebooks, providing a solid background to the industry while exploring the key concepts and practices that have gone into the creation of successful picturebooks.
Illustrating Children's Books by
The successful book illustrator starts by understanding his author's flight of fancy, then rendering the ideas and actions imaginatively in pictorial terms. This unusual and inspiring book was written for art students and ambitious beginners. It instructs on methods of developing both imaginative powers and the technical artistic skills to produce high quality illustrations that will please authors and children's book editors. Separate chapters focus on: Media, materials, and techniques Developing different drawing styles to fit specific storytelling methods Instilling visual personality traits in story characters Creating effective sequential images for storyboards and picture book outlines Design, typography, and preparation for print Illustrating story books for older children Illustrating nonfiction and educational books Breaking into the children's book publishing business Here is solid, practical instruction for students of book illustration, enhanced with more than 250 how-to illustrations in color and black-and-white.
Brown Gold: Milestones of African American Children's Picture Books, 1845-2002 by
Brown Gold is a compelling history and analysis of African-American children's picturebooks from the mid-nineteenth century to the present. At the turn of the nineteenth century, good children's books about black life were hard to find -- if, indeed, young black readers and their parents could even gain entry into the bookstores and libraries. But today, in the "Golden Age" of African-American children's picturebooks, one can find a wealth of titles ranging from Happy to be Nappy to Black is Brown is Tan. In this book, Michelle Martin explores how the genre has evolved from problematic early works such as Epaminondas that were rooted in minstrelsy and stereotype, through the civil rights movement, and onward to contemporary celebrations of blackness. She demonstrates the cultural importance of contemporary favorites through keen historical analysis -- scrutinizing the longevity and proliferation of the Coontown series and Ten Little Niggers books, for example -- that makes clear how few picturebooks existed in which black children could see themselves and their people positively represented even up until the 1960s. Martin also explores how children's authors and illustrators have addressed major issues in black life and history including racism, the civil rights movement, black feminism, major historical figures, religion, and slavery. Brown Gold adds new depth to the reader's understanding of African-American literature and culture, and illuminates how the round, dynamic characters in these children's novels, novellas, and picturebooks can put a face on the past, a face with which many contemporary readers can identify.
Words about Pictures by
A pioneering study of a unique narrative form, Words about Pictures examines the special qualities of picture books-books intended to educate or tell stories to young children. Drawing from a number of aesthetic and literary sources, Perry Nodelman explores the ways in which the interplay of the verbal and visual aspects of picture books conveys more narrative information and stimulation than either medium could achieve alone. Moving from "baby" books, alphabet books, and word books to such well-known children's picture books as Nancy Ekholm Burkert's Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, Gerald McDermott's Arrow to the Sun, Maurice Sendak's Where the Wild Things Are, and Chris Van Allsburg's The Garden of Abdul Gasazi, Nodelman reveals how picture-book narrative is affected by the exclusively visual information of picture-book design and illustration as well as by the relationships between pictures and their complementary texts.
Native American Picture Books of Change: Historic Children's Books by
In this book illustrated with 150 enchanting paintings and historical photographs, some from as early as 1922, the author describes the history and motivation behind some of the most exceptional children's books published in the United States. These picture book readers, originally developed for use in Indian schools during the New Deal, represent the first Native-centred texts used in Bureau of Indian Affairs curriculum. They were written by lauded writers, ethnologists, and linguists and illustrated with the stunning work of emerging and prominent Native American artists.
The Graphic Canon of Children's Literature by
The original three-volume anthology The Graphic Canon presented the world's classic literature - from ancient times to the late 20th century - as eye-popping comics, illustrations and other visual forms. In this follow-up volume, young people's literature through the ages is given new life by the best comics artists and illustrators. Fairy tales, fables, fantastical adventures, young adult novels, swashbuckling yarns, your favorite stories from childhood and your teenage years? they're all here, in all their original complexity and strangeness, uncensored and unsanitised.
Play Pen by
Once dismissed as a cozy world of teddy bears and fairies, the arrival on the scene of numerous highly original, contemporary, and "cool" graphic artists in recent years has transformed perceptions of children's book illustration. Children now grow up with a more informed and sophisticated visual diet--with cartoons, animated movies, comics, TV, and computer games--consuming a vast range of stylistic approaches, and illustrated books have moved to match the demands of a more discerning market. Equally, artists who in the past may not have considered the children's picturebook as an appropriate vehicle for artistic expression are increasingly drawn to the area. This book showcases some of the most interesting work emerging within the genre from a range of cultural backgrounds. It examines trends in use of media--both digital and traditional--and discusses the variety of approaches to subject matter.
Reading into Racism by
Published in the year 1985, Reading into Racism identifies some of the forms that racism takes in literature and learning materials and illustrates ways in which the school curriculum may be affected and children's minds may be conditioned.
Another History of the Children's Picture Book by
This book calls for a re-imagining of global picture book history: with the former Soviet Union at the centre of this narrative web. The result of an unusual collaboration between India and Lithuania, the book looks at two different global impacts of the Soviet picture book enterprise. A rich and unusual archive of art has been mined to go with this history: from socialist realist art to classic examples of the Lithuanian primitive-modern, many of the images in the book are featured inan English language publication for the first time.
Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | MyOtis
Millard Sheets Library | MyOtis | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian