Theories and Trends in Contemporary Art, Media, and Culture
Required Text
Practices of Looking by
Practices of Looking, Third Edition, bridges visual, communication, media, and cultural studies to investigate how images and the activity of looking carry meaning within and between different arenas in everyday life. The third edition has been updated to represent the contemporary visual cultural landscape and includes topics like the increasingly rapid global circulation of media, the rise of design and DIY cultures, digital media art and activism, and challenges to photojournalism and news media. Challenging yet accessible, Practices of Looking, Third Edition, is ideal for courses across a range of disciplines.
Call Number: N72 S6 S78 2018ISBN: 9780190265717
Databases
Library databases help you discover eBooks, articles, images, and more.
When searching for articles, your results might include links to access the full text digitally, or you might find citations to locate the article within the corresponding print periodical. Periodicals are publications like journals, magazines, and newspapers (i.e., items printed periodically, identified as different issues).
Here are some suggested databases you might use to do research for this class:
- ArtSource + OmniFile This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from 630 art and design magazines, 220 books, and 63,0000 images + 3,100 multidisciplinary periodicals.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Expanded access is now permanent. Access over 54,000 books and 2,600 journals from scholarly publishers across the fields of literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, art and architecture, and more. - ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
General reference multidisciplinary. Full text with graphics. Overall dates of coverage: 1971 - present. Total titles covered: 2,600+. - ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
More than 230,000 full-text searchable books aimed at undergraduates. With citation assistance. Optional: You can set up a personal account. - Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History This link opens in a new window
Developed by the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Timeline of Art History is a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of global art history for students and scholars.
Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | MyOtis
Millard Sheets Library | MyOtis | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian