Modern Military Uniforms by
Over 200 examples of international military uniforms since 1945 are presented along with a text detailing the accessory equipment that would be carried. Organized by country and covering all corners of the globe, specification boxes are included giving date, unit, rank, and theater. The attire of specialist counter-terrorist units is included.
Military Uniforms by
The 20th century was a time of tremendous technological progress, social change, and visual innovation, and witnessed major historical events that would change the world forever. This illustrated 12-volume series explores the relationship between social change and changes in costume throughout this eventful century.
American Flight Jackets, Airmen and Aircraft by
The American flight jacket : history & development -- China-Burma-India, & the Pacific theatre -- Europe, Africa & the Mediterranean theatre -- Unidentified theatre & others -- Navy & Marine Corps jackets -- Korea to Desert Storm.
Uniform: Order and Disorder by
Do uniforms-- objects of fascination to many--unite or distinguish individuals? Do they create reassuring equality or disturbing balkanization? The uniform, starting point for modern dress, combines functional and formal qualities in a situation of mass production and serves to equalize individuals regardless of social status. The aim of this book is to reinterpret, from a contemporary point of view, the uniform as a prototype of male dress, focusing on how the formal and technical perfection of military garments has become a hidden form of reference for today's fashion. In "Uniform"--edited by Francesco Bonami, Maria Luisa Frisa and Stefano Tonchi, and designed by Studio Camuffo--art, fashion, film, and pop culture coexist in parallel spaces, in constant dialogue with each other. In a sort of cultural parasitism the editors of this book work with and on a wide range of heterogeneous materials--like fabrics, ad campaigns, icon garments, symbolic images, comics and films--in order to explore changes in the social function of the uniform as well as the cultural changes conditioning this function. Retracing the itinerary of the complex system that is the history and present of fashion, "Uniform" provides an unprecedented decoding of its language and aesthetics.
Disruptive Pattern Material by
From animal survival to anti-war irony. Camouflage occurs naturally in the wild as a mechanism of protection and illusion. Learning from nature, military strategists reproduced, painted and printed camouflage patterns to protect equipment and soldiers. Disruptive Pattern Material is an encyclopedic history of camouflage from its roots in nature, through to its adoption by armed forces and on to its current popularity within modern civilian culture. The book begins with the wide variety of wildlife that protects itself by blending into the environment. Military camouflage covers the first uses of camouflage to disguise artillery and ships and eventually individual soldiers. A comprehensive, historical guide features the various camouflage patterns issued to soldiers of 107 nations around the world. The use of camouflage outside of the armed forces first began in the 1960s by anti-war protestors. From there, camouflage was further explored by artists and designers. The book covers the uses of non-military camouflage in: Fashion Architecture Music Sports Film Art and graffiti. Featuring 5,000 compelling images by leading photographers, Disruptive Pattern Material is an authoritative reference with fascinating cultural insight.
The US Military: A Basic Introduction by
This book provides a basic guide to the US military and will raise questions for further discussion by students and other curious readers. The US Military provides an accessible starting-point for those with a limited knowledge of this institution. Covering a wide range of subject matter, and ending with an extensive list of suggested resources to aid individual study and research, the text is divided into the following chapters: The A, B, Cs Strategy and Doctrine The Military in Action Weapons and Capabilities The Budget This book will be of great interest to students of the US military, US politics, defense studies, and war and conflict studies, and will also be of relevance to journalists, NGO staff and diplomats.
A People's History of the U.S. Military by
In A People’s History of the U.S. Military, historian Michael A. Bellesiles draws from three centuries of soldiers’ personal encounters with combat--through fascinating excerpts from letters, diaries, and memoirs, as well as audio recordings, film, and blogs--to capture the essence of the American military experience firsthand, from the American Revolution to the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan. Military service can shatter and give meaning to lives; it is rarely a neutral encounter, and has contributed to a rich outpouring of personal testimony from the men and women who have literally placed their lives on the line. The often dramatic and always richly textured first-person accounts collected in this book cover a wide range of perspectives, from ardent patriots to disillusioned cynics; barely literate farm boys to urbane college graduates; scions of founding families to recent immigrants, enthusiasts, and dissenters; women disguising themselves as men in order to serve their country to African Americans fighting for their freedom through military service. A work of great relevance and immediacy--as the nation grapples with the return of thousands of men and women from active military duty--A People’s History of the U.S. Military will become a major new touchstone for our understanding of American military service.
Swords into Ploughshares by
Catalogue of an exhibition held at the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, from Sept. 7-Nov. 27, 1995.
Fear and Fashion in the Cold War by
From Barbarella's bikini to vinyl radiation suits to high-tech jewelry, the Cold War's impact on fashion was unmistakable. Atomic anxieties, the space race, technological developments, and the first forays into "super-reality" led to innovations in materials, the cybernetic visions of the 1960s, and a range of surprising responses from artists, filmmakers, scientists, and designers. With a stunning selection of images, including photographs by fashion luminaries such as John French, Fear and Fashion in the Cold War explores how the image of the body was shaped by Cold War concerns between 1945 and 1970. In this engaging book, Jane Pavitt incorporates military, political, and scientific research in an engrossing discussion of how countercultural theories and experiences in the later 1960s shaped an alternative view of the "Cold War Body."
FashionEast by
A richly illustrated, comprehensive study of fashion under socialism, from state-sponsored prototypes to unofficial imitations of Paris fashion. The idea of fashion under socialism conjures up images of babushka headscarves and black market blue jeans. And yet, as Djurdja Bartlett shows in this groundbreaking book, the socialist East had an intimate relationship with fashion. Official antagonism--which cast fashion as frivolous and anti-revolutionary--eventually gave way to grudging acceptance and creeping consumerism. Bartlett outlines three phases in socialist fashion, and illustrates them with abundant images from magazines of the period: postrevolutionary utopian dress, official state-sanctioned socialist fashion, and samizdat-style everyday fashion. Utopian dress, ranging from the geometric abstraction of the constructivists under Bolshevism in the Soviet Union to the no-frills desexualized uniform of a factory worker in Czechoslovakia, reflected the revolutionary urge for a clean break with the past. The highly centralized socialist fashion system, part of Stalinist industrialization, offered official prototypes of high fashion that were never available in stores--mythical images of smart and luxurious dresses that symbolized the economic progress that socialist regimes dreamed of. Everyday fashion, starting in the 1950s, was an unofficial, do-it-yourself enterprise: Western fashions obtained through semiclandestine channels or sewn at home. The state tolerated the demand for Western fashion, promising the burgeoning middle class consumer goods in exchange for political loyalty. Bartlett traces the progress of socialist fashion in the Soviet Union, Czechoslovakia, Hungary, East Germany, Poland, and Yugoslavia, drawing on state-sponsored socialist women's magazines, etiquette books, socialist manuals on dress, private archives, and her own interviews with designers, fashion editors, and other key figures. Fashion, she suggests, with all its ephemerality and dynamism, was in perpetual conflict with the socialist regimes' fear of change and need for control. It was, to echo the famous first sentence from the Communist Manifesto, the spectre that haunted socialism until the end.
American Menswear by
If clothes make the man, who makes the clothes?and the trends they inspire? Fashion historian Daniel Delis Hill takes readers on a fascinatingly detailed tour of America?s changing sartorial landscape, tracing menswear from the tailors and ?slop shops? of the early nineteenth century to Calvins, tattoos, and the Armani tux. Each chronological section covers the full range of men's clothing by category, including suits and evening wear, outerwear, sportswear, accessories, sleepwear, swimwear, underwear, and grooming. Documenting the panorama of men?s dress with 650 illustrations (many never before gathered in book form), Hill describes the social developments that contributed to and sprang from changing styles of masculine clothing. Additionally, he demonstrates how technological innovations as small as the inch measuring tape or as sweeping as the treadle sewing machine revolutionized the manufacture of menswear, and how mass production, distribution, and marketing democratized men?s fashion. Examining evolving ideas and ideals of masculinity across two centuries of American history, Hill thoughtfully considers the societal implications of men?s choices in dress. American Menswear contributes a much-needed resource to the fields of costume history, fashion design and merchandising, men?s studies, advertising and marketing history, popular culture, and American history?as well as a treat for the casual reader and an eye-catching addition to any art reference library.
Vintage Menswear by
Curated by connoisseurs of vintage clothing, the Vintage Showroom is a vast collection of rare 20th-century pieces that fashion designers and stylists pay to view, using the cut and detailing of individual garments as inspiration for their own work. Offering one-of-a-kind access, The Vintage Showroom Menswear now makes this unique resource available in book form. Featuring 130 of the most influential examples of 20th-century and earlier European, American and Asian utilitarian tailoring and design, the book is divided into three sections of sportswear, militaria and workwear, covering everything from 1940s flying jackets and polar exploration suits to vintage French denims. Stunning full-page bleeds and front and back views showcase ground-breaking designs in concept, shape and cut. Providing over 300 lavishly illustrated pages of rare, must-see designs, The Vintage Showroom Menswear is the essential choice of 20th-century vintage tailoring and detailing and an inspirational resource for students and menswear fashion designers and stylists.
Forties Fashion by
"A fascinating narrative... Great stories, remarkable acts of patriotism...mark the indomitable spirit of humanity."--Booklist Here is a definitive look at fashion in the 1940s--from French style under the Occupation and the "make do and mend" approach to wartime clothing shortages through the development of faux fabrics, the rise of American fashion houses, and the New Look of the post- war period. The illustrations reveal the wide range of fashions and styles from the 1940s in North America, Europe, Australasia, and Japan. The lively text by fashion specialist Jonathan Walford details how fashion was considered not a frivolity but an aesthetic expression of circumstances in the 1940s. While Fascist states tried to create "national" styles before the war began, by 1940 the pursuit of beauty was promoted on both sides of the conflict as a patriotic duty. From prewar to postwar, we see attitudes emerge from period advertisements, images of real clothes, and firsthand accounts in contemporary publications. The result is a celebration of everything from practical and smart-looking attire for air raids (hooded capes with large pockets and siren suits) to street fashion and the creation of Christian Dior's "New Look" collection in 1947.
Fashionable Clothing from the Sears Catalog: early 1970s by
Turn back the calendar pages for a memorable jaunt through the early '70s! The clothing is very wearable, while being sought after by collectors. Drawn from Sears catalogs of the period, this entertaining book is an invaluable help in identifying and pricing vintage clothing and accessories. The captions provide accurate and detailed information about the many fashions illustrated in over 400 color photos. Today, clothing from the early 1970s is extremely popular on the vintage market, both to retail buyers, who enjoy wearing the styles, and to designers, who use the styles for inspiration. Here are examples of all the trendy styles of the period: mini skirts and dresses; hip-huggers and bell-bottoms; skimp-sleeved pullovers and slink knit shirts; mini and maxi coats; jumpsuits and tunics; chunky heeled and platform shoes. The book focuses on women's fashions, but includes examples of collectible men's and children's fashions as well.
Consuming Germany in the Cold War by
Sitting in the ruins of the Third Reich, most Germans wanted to know which of the two post-war German states would erase the material traces of their wartime suffering most quickly and most thoroughly. Consumption and the quality of everyday life quickly became important battlefields upon which the East-West conflict would be fought. This book focuses on the competing types of consumer societies that developed over time in the two Germanies and the legacy each left. Consuming Germany in the Cold War assesses why East Germany increasingly fell behind in this competition and how the failure to create a viable socialist "consumer society" in the East helped lead to the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989. By the 1970s, East Germans were well aware that the regime's bombastic promises that the GDR would soon overtake the West had become increasingly hollow. For most East German citizens, West German consumer society set the standards that East Germany repeatedly failed to meet.By exploring the ways in which East and West Germany have functioned as each other's "other" since 1949, this book suggests some of the possibilities for a new narrative of post-war German history. While taking into account the very different paths pursued by East and West Germany since 1949, the contributors demonstrate the importance of competition and highlight the connections between the two German successor states, as well as the ways in which these relationships changed throughout the period. By understanding the legacy that forty-plus years of rivalry established, we can gain a better understanding of the current tensions between the eastern and western regions of a united Germany.
Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | MyOtis
Millard Sheets Library | MyOtis | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian