Popular Culture
Databases
Here is a sample of academic and peer-reviewed journals available in our research databases.
- ArtSource + OmniFile This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from 630 art and design magazines, 220 books, and 63,0000 images + 3,100 multidisciplinary periodicals.
Sample titles:
- International Journal of Comic Art - limited full text
- Journal of Cultural Research in Art Education - full text
- Journal of Popular Culture (US) - abstracts only
- Journal of Popular Film & Television - limited full text
- Studies in Comics- full text
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Expanded access is now permanent. Access over 54,000 books and 2,600 journals from scholarly publishers across the fields of literature, music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, art and architecture, and more.
JSTOR is a good resource for researching historical pop culture and trends. Search by subject to find both articles and book chapters.
Sample topics:
Sample titles:
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
General reference multidisciplinary. Full text with graphics. Overall dates of coverage: 1971 - present. Total titles covered: 2,600+.
Sample titles:
- Fashion Theory
- Journal of Popular Culture (Oxford)
Open Access Academic Journals
- Flow Online journal of television and media studies launched in October 2004
Fan Studies
- FanHackers Project of the Organization for Transformative Works (OTW) that makes fan studies scholarship more accessible.
- Fan Studies Bibliography Compiled by FanHackers, it collects information about published research and, where possible, links to or copies of said research
- Fanlore Wiki documenting fan history; project of the Organization of Transformative Works (OTW)
- Fan Studies Scholarly association for aca-fans (mostly UK)
Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | MyOtis
Millard Sheets Library | MyOtis | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian