Walk through our stacks and thumb through magazines. Search OwlCat, the library catalog, to find items about different creators, professions, and topics.It includes thousands of ebooks, such as:
Get information on various sides of trending topics and social issues.
Featured Viewpoints collect 4-20 articles that represent different sides or points of view on a topic.
Get an encyclopedic view on historic events, persons, and topics.
Also covers many international newspapers.
Use Wikipedia to get biographical information on influential people as well as general overviews of millions of topics.
Identify relevant search words and phrases for use in other databases.
The American newspaper of record for over 150 years, It contains many different types of articles, including opinion pieces, reviews, news reporting, announcements, and letters to the editors.
Many, many different people have been interviewed and profiled within its pages. You can see how coverage of a person or cultural topic has changed over time.
We have a site license; visit this guide for more information on signing up for an account.
Once you have a name or issue that interest you, look them up in our research databases. Find specific articles on your research topic.
These online resources cover a variety of sources and media. For instance, the ProQuest Research Library is multidisciplinary and covers many different newspapers.
Find specialized academic sources for comics, fan culture, memes, transformative works, and more
Learn how to cite all of the sources in your paper, including books, articles, images, videos, tweets, blogs, and more.
Writing about Art by
Writing About Art walks students through every step of the writing process--from looking critically at art, to researching, to developing a thesis, to revising and polishing a final draft. Questions and examples prompt readers as they study artworks, develop a thesis, structure an argument, and cite research.
An Introduction to Rhetorical Terms by
This study guide gives students a handy reference to the background knowledge of rhetorical terms demanded of them by critical and theoretical texts in the humanities.
Rhetoric: An Historical Introduction by
This introduction to the art of rhetoric analyzes rhetorical concepts, problems, and methods and teaches practical inquiry through a series of classic rhetorical texts. An introduction to the art of rhetoric for those who are unacquainted with it and an argument about invention and tradition suitable for specialists Texts range from Cicero's De oratore and Augustine's On Christian Doctrine to Jane Austen's Persuasion and Stephen Greenblatt's Marvellous Possessions.
Figuratively Speaking by
Although rhetoric is a term often associated with lies, this book takes a polemical look at rhetoric as a purveyor of truth. Its purpose is to focus on one aspect of rhetoric, figurative speech, and to demonstrate how the treatment of figures of speech provides a common denominator among western cultures from Cicero to the present. The central idea is that, in the western tradition, figurative speech - using language to do more than name - provides the fundamental way for language to articulate concerns central to each cultural moment. In this study, Sarah Spence identifies the embedded tropes for four periods in Western culture: Roman antiquity, the High Middle Ages, the Age of Montaigne, and our present, post-9/11 moment. In so doing, she reasserts the fundamental importance of rhetoric, the art of speaking well.
NOTE: You must submit 2 drafts + 2 revision statements in addition to your final paper on Week 13.
NOTE: You must submit 2 drafts + 2 revision statements in addition to your final paper on Week 13.
Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | MyOtis
Millard Sheets Library | MyOtis | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian