Special Collections

Introduction

Our Special Collections comprise rare, fragile, or otherwise unique items. This includes materials like rare books, artists' books, institutional archives, and zines. Comprehensively, our Special Collections intend to advance the library's mission of providing a learning environment that inspires creativity.

To better conserve these items, they are housed in closed stacks (i.e., not browsable) and are non-circulating (i.e., cannot be borrowed from the library). They are viewable by appointment (see below for details). If you cannot visit or want to preview some of our collections, you can view a selection of digitized items through our publically accessible Otis Collections Online database.

Collections Overview

Rare Books

• Includes historical items as well as more recent publications that are too fragile or innovatively structured to exist in our Main Stacks
• Approximately 1,100 items, all cataloged
• Our most popular item is our edition of Josef Albers’ Interaction of Color from 1963

Archives

• Pertains to Otis College's institutional history
• We once housed the Women's Building Archive, which is now at the Getty. You can view some digitized images through Otis Collections Online.

Artists' Books

• This collection was significantly developed during the 1960s-70s, particularly by our former librarian, Joan Hugo (1930-2006)
• Contains over 2,000 items, including ~250 books from the Otis Laboratory Press

• Includes work by prominent contemporary artists (e.g., Ed Ruscha) as well as work by MFA Book Arts graduates (e.g., Sarah Bryant and Daniel Mellis)

Zines

Schedule an Appointment

To view item(s) from Otis' Special Collections, contact Morgan Yanni (myanni@otis.edu), our Reference and Special Collections Librarian.

Please give at least two days' notice before your desired viewing time so we can adequately prepare. Make sure to review our Special Collections Viewing Guidelines. We welcome outside visitors!

General rules:

• Due to concerns of fragility/stability, some items cannot be handled. You are still welcome to view them, but please do not touch. The librarian will set them up for you.
• Wash your hands before viewing and/or handling materials. Why?: This reduces the amount of oils and dirt in contact with the materials, which will contribute to their disintegration.
• For handwritten notes, use a graphite pencil (we have them available). Do not use any pens or ink around the materials. Why?: If a mark is accidentally made, pencil can be removed more easily than ink.
• Photographs without flash are permitted. Please do not publish or otherwise post photos without the library's permission.
• No food or drink. Closed water is ok but should be kept away from the item(s).

Workshops

We have a wonderful breadth of items in our Special Collections, and we are eager to integrate them into classes being taught at Otis. Professors who are interested in scheduling a Librarian-led workshop focused on some of these materials can do so through our Bookings page. Please schedule these sessions at least one week before the requested timeslot.

Before your session, please review our Special Collections Viewing Guidelines and share this document with your students.