Art and Visual Culture 1850-2010: Modernity to Globalisation by
AVAILABLE AS AN EBOOK. The essays in this volume engage directly with topical issues around art and gender, globalization, cultural difference, and curating, as well as explorations of key artists and movements and some less well-documented work by contemporary artists.
Art in Time: A World History of Styles and Movements
An up-to-date and comprehensive guide to 150 of the most significant styles and movements that have shaped art history through time. All art is of its time, and this book is the first survey that explicitly embeds styles, schools and movements within the politics and culture in which they arose, by means of timelines, textual references and the unique present-to-past arrangement of the book. An essential guide to art styles and movements and a history of world art from the present day to Greek antiquity, this book places the reader in the art historian's seat, offering an opportunity to work backwards from our own time and reconnect the dots, or even find new dots to connect. It revives art history, for both the specialist and the general reader coming to the subject with limited knowledge - it shows graphically that art history is a living thing, not dead.
Art in the Modern Era by
"Art in the modern era has come to be defined by its styles, schools, and movements. This guide to three hundred movements from 1860 to the present is without peer - it is the key to understanding more than a century of dynamic change in Western painting, sculpture, architecture, and design." "Who, where, when, how, and why? - these are the essential questions answered in the one hundred main entries that make up the heart of the book. Presented chronologically, the subjects range from Impressionism in the nineteenth century to Earth Art, Sound Art, and Internet Art in the twenty-first. The entries examine the context and evolution of each movement - the claims of the artists' manifestos, the drama of the exhibitions, the judgments of the critics, and the delight, or outrage, of the public. Two hundred supplementary entries provide fully cross-referenced summaries of other essential styles and movements, tracing intriguing patterns of influence and development. The foldout illustrated time line shows the evolution of the art of this period at a glance, providing a thorough overview of the entire era." "Listings of major international collections and suggestions for further reading are given for all the main entries, and the comprehensive index features more than one thousand artists, architects, designers, impresarios, critics, collectors, and champions of modern art, linking the styles, schools, and movements with the people who made them happen." "Whether for reference, fresh exploration, or pure pleasure, this is a supremely valuable resource for anyone interested in art and artists in the modern age."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Farewell to an Idea by
This work presents T.J. Clark's perspective on the history of modern art. It asks whether modernism and socialism depended on each other for their vitality, and argues that modernism was an extreme answer to an extreme condition - summed up by Max Weber as the disenchantment of the world.
The Story of Modern Art by
The Story of Modern Art is firmly established as an outstanding introduction to the subject. Writing in a clear and direct style, Norbert Lynton aims at helping the reader to form a relaxed and confident relationship with modern art. He explores the challenges and dilemmas that faced artists at the turn of the nineteenth century, and shows that subsequent developments have been serious and intelligent efforts to create art that is both honest and significant. Modern art still perplexes many people and the author believes that the accounts offered in its support often make the problem worse by over-stressing innovation and the rejection of the past. He sees no essential break or opposition between modern art and the art of the past, and argues that more attention should be paid to the inner content of works of art and less to superficial labels. In this edition, The Story of Modern Artis brought right up to date, with a new chapter on the developments in both art and art criticism in the 1980s, updated and enlarged biographies and bibliography, and additional illustrations. Combining clearly presented factual information with penetrating analysis and judgement, it is an indispensable starting point for all those interested in the art of the last 100 years.
Modern Art: Impressionism to Post-Modernism by
Modern Art is an authoritative introduction to every important development in the visual arts from the late nineteenth century to the 1980s. Eight critical essays by noted art historians shed light on topics from Impressionism to Dada, Art Nouveau to Pop Art. The essays are ordered chronologically, and each thoroughly examines the historical context--political, social, and technological--that shaped the movement under discussion. The text is accompanied by more than 400 color illustrations of the work of some of the most celebrated figures in art history, comprising an invigorating multiplicity of visual styles. Anyone seeking a gallery of the masterpieces of twentieth-century art, together with an informed survey of the period, will find no better single volume.
History of Modern Art, 6th ed. by
A compelling retelling of the story of the art and artists of the last 150 years, this text covers modernism's mid 19th century European beginnings to today's divergent art trends.
Fashion since 1900, 2nd ed. by
From the turn-of-the-century S-bend silhouette to the "green fashion" and celebrity couture of the new millennium, this comprehensive survey explores all the significant developments in fashion in a period that has seen a growing preoccupation with personal appearance and clothes. It focuses on key movements and innovations in style for both men and women, and explores these through the work of the most original and influential designers. Chapters are organized around crucial shifts in style and major world events, and exciting advances in fashion are placed within their socioeconomic, political, and cultural contexts. International in scope, this new edition includes updates on the most important new designers and the reinvention of brands. The reference section includes an extensive bibliography.
Graphic Style: From Victorian to New century by
3rd ed. This visual survey of graphic design styles through the ages is an essential resource for designers, art and design students, and art lovers. With more than 700 illustrations, it is the only wide-ranging history of graphic design to be completely visual, and many readers treasure it for its amazing trove of images. This new edition has been brought completely up to date, with sections devoted to styles of the twenty-first century, including the widely popular Street Art and Hand Lettering movements. Graphic Style, says Studio Magazine, "should be on the shelf of every serious designer/illustrator."
History of Modern Design, 1st ed. by
The first book of its kind, Raizmans History of Modern Design offers a gorgeously illustrated survey of the applied arts and industrial design from the eighteenth century to present day, covering furniture, metal, glass, ceramics, fashion, appliances, transportation, and advertising.
Pioneers of Modern Design, 4th ed., rev. and expanded by
One of the most widely read books on modern design, Nikolaus Pevsner’s landmark work today remains as stimulating as it was when first published in 1936. This expanded edition of Pioneers of Modern Design provides Pevsner’s original text along with significant new and updated information, enhancing Pevsner’s illuminating account of the roots of Modernism. The book now offers many beautiful color illustrations; biographies and bibliographies of all major figures; illustrated short essays on key themes, movements, and individuals; a critique of Pevsner’s analysis from today’s perspective; examples of works after 1914 (where the original study ended); a biography detailing Pevsner’s life and achievements; and much more. Pevsner saw Modernism as a synthesis of three main sources: William Morris and his followers, the work of nineteenth-century engineers, and Art Nouveau. The author considers the role of these sources in the work of early Modernists and looks at such masters of the movement as C.F.A. Voysey and Charles Rennie Mackintosh in Britain, Louis Sullivan and Frank Lloyd Wright in America, and Adolf Loos and Otto Wagner in Vienna. The account concludes with a discussion of the radical break with the past represented by the design work of Walter Gropius and his future Bauhaus colleagues.
A History of Intellectual Property in 50 Objects by
Book covers many objects "invented" during the modern period, such as: the corset, sewing machine, telegraph, cameras and photographic processes, and the light bulb. It also looks at specific objects, such as the photographic portait of Oscar Wilde and "Steamboat Willie."
Against Fashion: Clothing As Art, 1850-1930 by
Winner, Jackets and Covers Category, 2004 Association of American University Presses (AAUP) Book, Jacket, and Journal Show. The late nineteenth-century invention of "fashion" as we understand it today inspired avant-garde artists of the period to create an art form to counter commercial fashion. These artists saw clothing not as a symbol of class distinction but as a force for shaping experience—an opportunity to make things new, to go beyond the traditional boundaries of art. For many artists, therefore, dress design was too important to be left to the fashion designers; they would appropriate clothing as an art form that could break through the traditional boundaries of "pure" art to act directly on life. Against Fashionis the history of the modern relationship between artists and this ideal "anti-fashion." Radu Stern traces the development of clothes as art by artists of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. He discusses contributions to the new art form by various artistic movements of the historical avant-garde, including Art Nouveau, the Werkbund, Cubism, Futurism, Constructivism, and the Bauhaus; he examines the work of such key figures as Henry van de Velde, Gustav Klimt, and Sonia Delaunay. The book includes more than 100 illustrations, many in color, as well as an anthology of essential writings and documents by artists and writers of the period, some of them translated into English for the first time. The artists and works examined display a diversity of styles and ideas, but all share the desire to reject the mercantile logic of commercial fashion and replace it with a utopian "anti-fashion."
Designing Modernity by
One of the critical formative influences of the 20th century has been the response to modernity. In the struggle between modern and anti-modern forces, between progressiveness and reaction, design has been a key element in the service of reform movements and as an agent of propaganda.
A History of Design from the Victorian Era to the Present, 2nd ed. by
An abundantly illustrated overview of modern design across continents and cultures, highlighting key movements and design traditions. A unique cross-disciplinary survey of design history, A History of Design from the Victorian Era to the Present offers a concise overview of the modern milestones of architecture, interior design, graphic design, product design, and photography from the Crystal Palace of 1851 to the iPhone at the turn of the twenty-first century. This abundantly illustrated volume traces modern design across continents and cultures, highlighting the key movements and design traditions that have shaped the world around us. From the whirlwind of innovation that gripped Victorian England at the dawn of the Industrial Revolution, the book details design's rich evolution through more than a century and a half, including Art Nouveau's breathtaking ornament, the ?new vision? of the Bauhaus, the rise of the International Style, and postmodernism and contemporary currents in the graphic arts and landscape architecture. Major design figures are framed against a background of evolving aesthetic idioms. Especially attuned to how technological innovations catalyzed daringly conceived skyscrapers, bridges, and cantilever chairs, the authors also chart the impact of technical advances in the disciplines of industrial design, typography, and photographic portraiture. This new edition of a classic text first published in 1970 expands coverage to include developments in design over the last forty years, with emphasis on its global reach, the impact of the digital revolution, and new trends in sustainable design that will shape the century to come.
New Design Source Book, updated ed. by
This eye-catching book is a checklist of some of the best objects created in the last 150 years in Europe and America. Some are functional and some purely decorative; look here for everything from William Morris wallpaper to Michele de Lucchi's 1984 vacuum cleaners. Each chapter covers a particular era or art movement, starting with the Arts and Crafts Movement (1850-1900) and finishing with the computer age. Each is a time capsule of events and a visual inventory of architecture, costume, everyday household objects, and technological equipment. This is not a comprehensive study, but it offers a decent overview of typical design motifs for each time period.
Forms in Modernism - A Visual Set: The Unity of Typography, Architecture & the Design Arts by
What do typefaces and buildings have in common? A great deal, according to typographic design expert, and former university professor, Virginia Smith. Smith believes that typography is the unifying discipline through which we can understand, analyze, and compare form in a wide range of visual media. This visually delightful book sets out to prove that point, by studying forms - shapes and their varieties and permutations - in all of the other design arts. The main focus is on architecture, but the book also looks at fashion, furniture, and common artifacts. Smith believes that there is a visual landscape of periods in design, where all of the visual arts treat form in similar ways. FORMS IN MODERNISM identifies some of these similarities - including striping, skewing, stretching, compressing, and elongating - across media. All of her examples appeared in the first half of the 20th Century, and lasted from early European modernism up through the American mid-century and the International Style. More than just a book designed to prove a thesis, FORMS IN MODERNISM provides an interesting visual journey through the styles of the first half of the last century.
Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | MyOtis
Millard Sheets Library | MyOtis | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian