It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Images and Videos: Media Resources on the Web
Images, videos, and audio resources at Otis College and on the web
Note restrictions on reuse. Many of them use Creative Commons licenses as a "free, simple, and standardized way to grant copyright permissions for creative and academic works; ensure proper attribution; and allow others to copy, distribute, and make use of those works." (creativecommons.org)
A single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitised throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions.
A library containing thousands of digital movies which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
See also: Internet Archive Book Images on Flickr
Open-access edition of the peer-reviewed online encyclopedia that tells the history of the U.S. through its structures and places. Produced by the Society of Architecture Historians (SAH) and the University of Virginia Press.
Archnet is a globally-accessible, intellectual resource focused on architecture, urbanism, environmental and landscape design, visual culture, and conservation issues related to the Muslim world. Archnet’s mission is to provide ready access to unique visual and textual material to facilitate teaching, scholarship, and professional work of high quality.
The Historic American Buildings Survey (HABS), Historic American Engineering Record (HAER) and Historic American Landscapes Survey (HALS) from the Prints and Photographs Division of the Library of Congress, and part of American Memory.
The Ad*Access Project, funded by the Duke Endowment "Library 2000" Fund, presents images and database information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955.
Created by faculty at Parsons, it is an extensive, and ongoing live document of BIPOC Artists & Designers organized by disciplines as follows: Visual Art, Fashion, System Designs, Socially Engaged Projects, & Constructed Environments
IMAGE ARCHIVE in ARTSTOR. In the 1960s, as a response to segregation in the United States, the influential art patron Dominique de Menil began a research project and photo archive. Now under the W. E. B. Du Bois Research Institute at the Hutchins Center for African and African American Research at Harvard University
Online access to over a million catalog records and over half a million images of objects in our collections
Stock Photography and Royalty-Free Images
Look for resources created under either a completely unrestricted use license, or a Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license, meaning that you can download, use, manipulate, share, distribute, or otherwise use them for whatever purpose you'd like without permission. It is strongly recommended that you credit the creator(s) of the image, but it is not necessary.
The artist Moby has made his music available for "independent and non-profit filmmakers, film students, and anyone in need of free music for their independent, non-profit film, video, or short." Free, but registration required.
Opsound is a gift economy in action, an experiment in applying the model of free software to music. Musicians and sound artists are invited to add their work to the Opsound pool using a copyleft license developed by Creative Commons. Listeners are invited to download, share, remix, and reimagine.
More than 200,000 digitized items (photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, etc.) that reflect the diverse history of California. Collections support California Content Standards, including primary sources sets.
Over 600,000 images digitized from primary sources and printed rarities--illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints and photographs, illustrated books, fashion plates, and other printed ephemera
Kanopy Streaming currently offers over 26,000 films from over 800 leading producers such as Criterion Collection, New Day Films, The Great Courses, PBS, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, First Run Features, and launches over 500 new release films every month.