Birth of the Modern
About
Each section will have resources for
- each case study
- topic overview
- related concepts and topics
These concepts are inter-related. Some of the items listed may be useful to understand the other concepts and case studies.
The items listed in this guide are suggestions. Please use them for inspiration,
Conducting Research
Where to Start Your Research
- Get an overview of your topic or research question
- Review the historical context for your topic or research question
- Search the databases for articles and books to deepen your understanding of the topic or research question
- Look for differing views and opinions
- Keep track of your research to make it easier to cite your sources
Learn about more search strategies
Books, Journals, Images, and more
-
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles and images from art, design, and multidisciplinary periodicals and books.
-
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
General multidisciplinary reference. Full-text with graphics, covering over 2,600 titles from 1971 to the present.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Access scholarly books and journals related to literature, music, film, folklore, visual and performing arts, architecture, and more. -
ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
More than 230,000 full-text, searchable books aimed at undergraduates. (Option to set up a personal account.) -
Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
For information on various sides of social issues. Includes pro/con viewpoints, reference articles, interactive maps, infographics, and more. TOPIC FINDER
-
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
Part of the HeinOnline Social Justice Suite. Brings together all essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. -
OtisDID This link opens in a new window
Otis Digital Image Database (OtisDID) provides images for teaching and learning, with a focus on art and design history.
Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | MyOtis
Millard Sheets Library | MyOtis | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian