Skip to main content

Millard Sheets Library

How to access library resources from off campus.
Go to our Catalogs and Databases.
Get help with citations and annotations.
Contact the library.
We Are Open

Spring 2021 Services

Millard Sheets Library Is Open

  • Physical access will be by appointment only; no drop-ins are allowed
  • Local patrons may request items that will be available for pick-up in the parking garage
  • If you cannot come to campus, please contact Library staff on how to access e-versions of items in our collections.

 More details about all of these services

Image adapted from Kimball Library

Online Access to Library

How to Access Library Resources from Off-Campus

Students, faculty and staff can access the library databases, ebooks, and streaming video via the library website

Image: Created by macrovector_official

Shirley Chisholm

Celebrate Black History Month

Shirley Chisholm (1924-2005) was the first Black woman elected to the US Congress and ran for President in the 1972 Democratic primaries.

More research resources available in the Black Lives Matter research guide

Image: Photo by Don Hogan Charles/New York Times Co./Getty Images

Zuni: Four Seasons by Art Hazelwood

Featured Guide: Artists' Books Guide

The Millard Sheets Library has a collection of artists' books, including work done by Otis students.

The goal of the Otis Artists' Book Collection is not to create a comprehensive archive, but rather to provide a teaching resource available to artists and students. We encourage use of the collection by both members of the Otis College community and outside researchers.

Perhaps some of these items will inspire you in your own work

Faculty can set up virtual visits and workshops. Please contact us!

Image: Zuni: Four Seasons by Art Hazelwood, 2019

Website under contstruction

Updating Guides

We are updating several research guides and pages in preparation for the Spring 2021 semester.

These guides will have a notice on their front page. Some content may become unavailable.

Please contact us if you have any questions or concerns, or need help finding anything.

 

Current Hours

Spring Semester 2021

Physical Hours of Operation

January 19th - May 11th, 2021

Monday - Friday  7:30 am - 6:00 pm
Saturday  10:15 am - 3:00 pm
Sunday  12:15 pm - 5:00 pm

Contact Us

Closed all major holidays

Spring Break

March 22nd - March 28th, 2021
Saturday - Sunday  CLOSED FIRST WEEKEND
Monday - Friday  8:30 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday  10:15 am - 3 pm
Sunday  12:15 pm - 5 pm


All times posted are for Pacific Time (PT). Hours are subject to change.
More hours information

Library Catalog & Databases

 

Log into your Library Account

  • If you encounter an error message, please contact the Circulation Desk

Limit search to the Materials Collection

Get help with finding books in the Library

Complete the Library Usage Agreement


Search the Databases

Ask us!

You might think the most important resource of a library is the books. In fact, it's really the librarians. They can make your life much easier.

We're happy to assist. We don't mind questions. . .   Really.

Ask a Question or Recommend a Purchase

Map

Thumbnail

NEW & TRIAL DATABASES


Tell us what you think! Please fill out this subscription survey.

Who was Millard Sheets anyway?

In 1954 Millard Sheets was appointed Director of Otis College. Under his leadership, the school's academic program was restructured so that BFA and MFA degrees were offered.

You may be familiar with his mosaic work on Los Angeles bank buildings.

Oral History of Millard Sheets from the Archives of American Art, Smithsonian

Library Exhibitions

The Millard Sheets Library regularly exhibits items from its Special Collections, especially from the Artists' Books Collection. Check the display case at the library entrance.

Recent exhibitions have included Chance Operations, Random Access and From Here to There.

Please direct questions to Cathy Chambers by phone (310) 665-6327 or email (cathcham@otis.edu).

Learning Centers

Student Learning Center

The Student Learning Center (SLC) is a friendly space for students on the NW side of the Library where you can receive free support in writing, math, and study skills from peer tutors.

Teaching / Learning Center

The Teaching/Learning Center (TLC) is a faculty dedicated space where you can work as well as receive support in teaching best practices, instructional technologies, and training on Otis College systems such as O-Space, Zoom, and Webmail.

Tell us what you think about the Library!

Student Satisfaction Survey - Takes only 3 minutes!

Faculty Satisfaction Survey - Takes only 2 minutes!

Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | Otis Dashboard

Millard Sheets Library | Library Dashboard Site | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian