When doing academic research, you need to locate and use high-quality sources. These are typically going to be found in books and scholarly journals.
We recommend using library databases to search for these types of materials. Unlike a vast Google search, the articles and eBooks found in our databases:
Q: What is a database?
A: A database is a collection of logically related records that can be read by a computer. Computerized address books and online library catalogs are examples of commonly used databases.
Q: Isn't the "web" the biggest and best database?
A: No, the web isn't a database, because it isn't really organized or consistent.
Q: Why do I need databases if everything I need can be found on the Web?
A: A tremendous amount of information is NOT available on the "surface web," AKA the general results you get through common search engines like Google. Further, many of these search results are hidden behind paywalls and are not free. Databases allow you to discover information that exists in the "invisible," "hidden," or "deep" web---these are items that haven't been indexed by standard web search-engine programs. Further, our subscriptions to databases allow you to access content that would otherwise cost money.
Q: Is information found in a database more reliable than what's on the web?
A: Generally, yes. Information in a database has, at the very least, been selected by editors. For periodical databases, the articles were printed first in a magazine, journal, or newspaper with editors. Many databases add value to the content by organizing it and adding subjects, making it more easy to discover relevant items.
By contrast, anyone can put anything on the web. Some of it is edited, selected, and monitored, but most of it isn't. Plus, the formats can vary widely, so it is sometimes difficult to know exactly what it is you have found. See also: Fake News
Q: Are there other databases that I can access elsewhere?
A: Yes, there are many reputable databases in existence. Otis subscribes to a small handful that are relevant to our courses. However, if you are eager to do more in-depth research, try visiting Los Angeles Public Library or Loyola Marymount University. See also: Other Los Angeles Libraries
Lastly, please keep in mind that not everything is available online. Physical books (and periodicals) are still important sources for your research.
Only 10% of an iceberg is visible from the surface. You can see the tip, but most of it is submerged. This is comparable to web search results.
The "invisible," "hidden," or "deep" web cannot be found in "surface" web searching. When searching, you only see a small portion of the information that exists online. This is because there are many things that are not indexed by common search engines.
Some "invisible" content:
Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | MyOtis
Millard Sheets Library | MyOtis | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian