Zemel, Carol. “Sorrowing Women, Rescuing Men: Van Gogh’s Images of Women and Family.” Art History, vol. 10, no. 3, Sept. 1987, pp. 351-368. Art & Architecture Source, https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1467-8365.1987.tb00261.x.
[Author Credentials] Carol Zemel is an art historian with a PhD from Columbia University. She has published books and articles in prominent art journals. She is a Professor Emerita of Art History and Visual Culture in the Department of Visual Arts at York University.
[Audience / Type of Information] Art History is a peer-reviewed journal that prints art historical research papers. Considering its subject matter and content, it is a scholarly journal whose intended audience is art historians and upper-division art history students. The article is 24 pages long, providing an in-depth discussion accompanied by black-and-white reproductions of select artworks examined by the author. The text provides ample references through footnotes and a bibliography.
[Purpose / Bias / Point of View] The author approaches historical materials using a feminist lens to demonstrate that Van Gogh's paintings of women reflected societal views on female sexuality and prostitution. She argues that he viewed prostitutes as fallen women who could be saved through a proper domestic life. The author questions the 19th-century male assumption of what all women inherently wanted.
[Currency of the Source] The article was published in 1987 after feminist theory began to be formally and academically developed. Some other more recent articles about Van Gogh and women can be used in comparison.
[Coverage / Scope / Content] While the article's topic is quite narrow, the author covers it thoroughly.
[Relevance to Your Paper] I am interested in Van Gogh’s views about women, and this article discusses various examples of images of women and family appearing in paintings by Vincent van Gogh. Zemel's article provides a useful feminist perspective that can contribute to my paper.
Stasukevich, Iain. "Reclaiming Art." American Cinematographer, vol. 96, no. 1, Jan. 2015, pp. 30-36. Art & Architecture Source. Accessed 9 Dec. 2024.
[Author Credentials] Iain Stasukevich is a filmmaker and a contributing editor for American Cinematographer. There is information about him on IMDB.
[Audience / Type of Information] American Cinematographer is a trade magazine published in Hollywood, California. Being a trade publication, it features many advertisements for cameras, other industry-related equipment, and movies. The information in the articles is fairly technical, providing information on camera settings, lighting, and lenses.
[Purpose / Bias / Point of View] This article interviews Bruno Delbonnel, a cinematographer for Tim Burton, asking him questions about his vision for the movie Big Eyes. The purpose is to share Delbonnel’s approach to visual effects and photography.
[Currency of the Source] This article was published in 2015, around the same time the film Big Eyes was released. The information is current with regard to the film it discusses, which means the information Delbonnel presents is rather fresh, though it is now a decade old.
[Coverage / Scope / Content] As an interview, the article primarily includes questions and answers about Big Eyes between the author and cinematographer, as well as relevant pictures. Delbonnel comments on the aesthetics of the film, stating his efforts to achieve a hyperrealistic/surreal effect through specific diffusion levels. Other topics covered include lighting techniques, his collaboration with Burton, and digital cinematography.
[Relevance to Paper] Because I am a Digital Media major, this article is relevant for its inclusion of both technical and creative aspects of production. It gave me information about why and how Burton and his cinematographer collaborated to make an interesting movie. I plan to focus on collaboration in digital media in my paper.
Cashdan, Marina. “Tim Burton: Hailing Filmdom’s Oddest Artist.” Modern Painters, vol. 21, no. 8, Nov. 2009, pp. 48–57. Art & Architecture Source, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&AuthType=ip,shib&db=asu&AN=505267791&site=ehost-live&scope=site. Accessed 9 Dec. 2024.
[Author Credentials] Marina Cashdan studied English and Dance at Barnard College. She is a writer and editor whose work regularly appears in publications like The New York Times, The Huffington Post, Style Magazine, Frieze, and Art in America, among other arts magazines. She was formerly the executive editor at Modern Painters. She is currently the editorial director of Artsy.
[Audience / Type of Information] Modern Painters is a glossy art magazine that features articles related to the contemporary art world alongside colorful photos and advertisements. Its intended audience is artists and other art world professionals, but it is also accessible to anyone interested in (or with some education related to) the arts. Tim Burton has a mass appeal, so this particular article would be classified as Substantive News or General Interest.
[Purpose / Bias / Point of View] The purpose of this article is likely promotional. I think this because the publication intends to advertise the various activities of the contemporary art world, especially in New York City. This article promoted Tim Burton, who coincidentally had an exhibition at MoMA. Cashdan is making the case that Burton is not only a filmmaker but an artist.
[Currency of the Source] This article was published in 2009. At this time, it is 15 years old, which is a bit dated but still relevant to my research.
[Coverage / Scope / Content] It's a fairly lengthy article that thoroughly covers Burton's painting practice. The article includes an interview with Burton himself and images of his artwork I haven't found elsewhere.
[Relevance to Paper] This article is perfect for my paper because she interviewed Burton and included quotes that reveal his self-perception. There are also many images of his artwork that I haven't been able to find elsewhere.
Wallace, Amy and Tim Burton. "Tim Burton I." Los Angeles Magazine, vol. 56, no. 5, May 2011, pp. 38-40. OmniFile Full Text Select.
[Author Credentials] Amy Wallace is an award-winning journalist whose work has appeared in well-known magazines like GQ, The New Yorker, Vanity Fair, Esquire, and Elle. She spent four years as a senior writer for Los Angeles Magazine and is now the editor-at-large.
[Audience / Type of Information] Los Angeles Magazine is a largely circulated popular magazine intended for a broad audience. The content of the article does not require any advanced or specialized knowledge, and the language used is accessible. Further, Tim Burton has a mass appeal, so this article may be classified as General Interest.
[Purpose / Bias / Point of View] The purpose of this article seems to be promotional. This publication, Los Angeles Magazine, typically promotes people or activities that are associated with Los Angeles. This article was published while an exhibition about Burton was on view at LACMA, so I think it was meant to inform people about the exhibit and to convince them to visit it.
[Currency of the Source] This article was published while the exhibition was taking place, so it has currency for my research about the exhibit. However, it was published over a decade ago with respect to when I am writing.
[Coverage / Scope / Content] Burton discusses various aspects of his relationship to Los Angeles including his childhood in Burbank, his time in CalArts' Disney animation program, and the exhibition of his work at LACMA. Overall, the article is rather short and doesn't go into depth.
[Relevance to Paper] Burton's discussion of his involvement with Los Angeles, his education at CalArts, and his exhibition at LACMA was useful for me to understand aspects of his life and background. The article provided me with basic facts but not much more.
Wikimedia Foundation. “What Is Creative Commons?” YouTube, 7 Feb. 2017, https://youtu.be/dPZTh2NKTm4.
[Author Credentials] The Wikimedia Foundation is a non-profit that runs Wikipedia and other sites. Victor Grigas, listed as the video's creator in the credits, is a photographer and producer working for Wikimedia.
[Audience / Type of Information] It is an advertisement meant to appeal to tech-savvy creators in the general public.
[Purpose / Bias / Point of View] The video presents Creative Commons licenses as a way to empower creators. In the past, the video was used as a promotional resource on CreativeCommons.org to simultaneously inform users about what Creative Commons is and to convince them to use it. They are taking a stance against copyright laws.
[Content / Coverage / Scope] The video is quite short. It briefly introduces Creative Commons licenses by illustrating their principles. It does not go into any detail about the specific criteria of the licenses.
[Currency of the Source] The information seems somewhat dated, as the video no longer appears on their website.
[Relevance to Paper] Copyright and licensing can be difficult to understand, so I liked how this video presented the concepts in a simplified and approachable way. This source introduced me to what CC licenses are, which is relevant to my project about artists' rights.
TechInsider. “Mickey Mouse And Copyright Law.” YouTube, 3 Oct. 2015, https://youtu.be/_6u7JkQAFMw.
[Author credentials] TechInsider is part of Business Insider, a business news website. The video has no credits.
[Audience / Type of Information] This short news video is meant to appeal to the general public.
[Purpose / Bias / Point of View] It is decidedly anti-Disney and negative towards other big media companies. It favors shorter copyright terms and the public domain.
[Content / Coverage / Scope] It focuses on one character owned by one company and how that has affected the length of copyright terms in the United States.
[Currency of the Source] This video was created in 2015 to alert viewers about possible major changes in copyright law. However, Disney and other big media corporations did not pursue another copyright term extension.
[Relevance to Paper] I wanted a video that had a negative point of view. It succinctly covered major changes in US copyright law over the last 100 years.
U.S. Copyright Office. “What Is Copyright?” YouTube, 30 Oct. 2019, https://youtu.be/ukFl-siTFtg.
[Author Credentials] The US Copyright Office is the federal department in charge of domestic copyright laws.
[Audience / Type of Information] The intended audience is the general U.S. population, especially people who create content that may be copyrighted. Since it is a promotional video, it seems to be more of a Popular source rather than a Substantive News.
[Purpose / Bias / Point of View] Although it takes a neutral tone, the US Copyright Office is promoting its services. It strongly encourages people to register for copyright even though it is no longer required.
[Content / Coverage / Scope] Brief introduction to copyright law in the United States.
[Currency of the Source] This video is very current, as it was published in 2019, and no new major copyright legislation has been passed.
[Relevance to Paper] I liked how it distinguished copyright, trademark, and patent from one another. This helped provide clarification for me. In using this source, I wanted to see how a government entity presented information intended to be accessible to anyone.
Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | MyOtis
Millard Sheets Library | MyOtis | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian