Research & Information Literacy

What is a Database?

A database is a collection of records (or data) that is organized and retrievable.

We recommend using library databases for academic research. Unlike a vast Google search, the articles and eBooks found in our databases:

• are vetted and selected by experts
• have reputable publishers
• list the credentials of authors and publishers
• include descriptive subjects in their metadata

Database content

Database interface

Going Beyond the Surface (Web): Internet Search Engines vs. Library Databases

The "surface web" (also referred to as the "visible web") comprises websites that are available to the general public and have been indexed by Internet search engines like Google. This includes content from sites like Wikipedia, Reddit, social media, and commerce sites.

The content available in library and academic databases makes up a portinon of the "deep web" (sometimes called the "invisible web" or "hidden web").

Keep in mind that not all information is available to you online. Print books and periodicals are vital resources!

The Deep Web

Differentiation articulated by Michael K. Bergman in 2001

The "deep," "invisible," or "hidden" web cannot be found through "surface" web searching. When searching the surface web, you only see a small portion of the information that exists online. This is because much of online content is not indexed by common search engines.

Some deep web content:

• Subscription databases (e.g., library databases)
• Intranets/portals (password-protected websites for organizations and companies)
• Bank accounts
• Social media (depending on the privacy settings)
• Webpages that are "buried" in very large websites. For instance, you have to click on many links to get there, and web crawlers may not reach them. Government websites are an example.
• Other search engines and online directories (Google may be able to find the homepage of these sites, but will not search within it)
• Isolated pages (web pages that no other pages link to)
• Web pages that have been deliberately hidden from search engines using special code