Finding Images and Videos
Imaging Projects
The Millard Sheets Library has worked on several projects to provide digital images to the Otis College community as well as the public. Here are some of the highlights:
Image Databases
Images are available in many of our research databases. The ones below specialize in images.
Access is limited to the Otis College community.
- OtisDID This link opens in a new window
UPGRADED MARCH 2020: Otis Digital Image Database (OtisDID) for teaching and learning. Focus is on art and design history. (Otis Community only) - Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Artstor (now migrated to JSTOR) offers over 3 million images of items in museum and archive collections, encompassing diverse time periods and world cultures. Entries include descriptive information and provenance, and the database offers curate collections. Objects are relevant to architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, history, ethnography, and women’s studies and address many other forms of visual culture. Curate your own collection by creating an account using your Otis SSO.
- VOGUE Archive This link opens in a new window
Entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from the first issue in 1892 to the current month with photos and ads. All searchable!
- WGSN This link opens in a new window
Extensive fashion and style related site with trend forecasting. You must first create an account. View the FAQ for more help.
Otis Collections
- Otis Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Database containing images of items from our collections and archives. Includes materials from the Library, Galleries, Departments, and Faculty.
NOTE: For best results, use Firefox or Safari as your web browser.
Faculty Work
Images by artists and designers who teach at Otis.
Otis History
Selections from the Otis historical archives. Covers 1918-present day
Ben Maltz Gallery Exhibition Archive
Information about current and past exhibitions, including catalogs, images, press releases, and more
Artists's Books
Collection of about 2,000 artists' books in the Otis Library Special Collections
Woman's Building Image Archive
1500 images originally created as part of the Getty Faces of L.A. Project. Now includes slides, posters. Now housed at the Getty Research Institute.
Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | MyOtis
Millard Sheets Library | MyOtis | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian