Skip to main content

Information Literacy

Initial

Foundation Level Competency

C - level Information Literacy

Source information is RESTATED to support topic and includes TWO annotations that may be from books, database articles, or academic/museum/ professional websites.

Sources must appear as in‐text citations and on a works cited page

Each annotation must include 3 of the following criteria:

  1. Author’s credentials related to topic
  2. Description of type of source/audience
  3. Discussion of purpose/point of view
  4. Discussion of currency of the source
  5. Explain why the source is relevant to the assignment.

Practicing

Sophomore Level Competency

C - level Information Literacy

Source information is CATEGORIZED to support topic and includes THREE well chosen, quality sources, two of which should be annotated that may be from books, database articles, or academic/museum/professional websites.

Sources must appear as in‐text citations and on a works cited page

Each of the TWO annotations must include all of the following criteria:

  1. Author’s credentials related to topic
  2. Description of type of source/audience
  3. Discussion of purpose/point of view
  4. Discussion of currency of the source
  5. Explain why the source is relevant to the assignment.

Advanced

Junior/Senior Level Competency

C - level Information Literacy

Source information ANALYSIS supports topic and includes FOUR quality sources, which include at least

TWO adequate annotations. Analysis may be from database books, articles, academic/museum/professional websites.

Sources must appear as in‐text citations and on a works cited page

Each of the annotations must include all of the following criteria:

  1. Author’s credentials related to topic
  2. Description of type of source/audience
  3. Discussion of purpose/point of view
  4. Discussion of currency of the source
  5. Description of the author's coverage of the topic
  6. Explain why the source is relevant to the assignment.

Quality Sources

QUALITY sources are often found easily in books and databases. At the junior / senior level, at least one database article and one book is expected.

Check out these relevant guides:

Get Help!

Think of it as having your very own personal librarian. Drop by in person, online, and via email. Consider making an appointments to get in-depth help with research for assignments.

Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | Otis Dashboard

Millard Sheets Library | Library Dashboard Site | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian