Millard Sheets Library Homepage

Using Library Databases

• Most subscription databases are accessible to the Otis community at all times, even off-campus.
• We primarily authenticate using MyOtis (Otis SSO login page) or a proxy server. Use your regular Otis credentials.
• If asked to create your own account, sign up using your Otis email address.
• Some resources require authentication while on campus (e.g., The New York Times).
• Having trouble? Report any issues to our staff.

Notes on Copyright and Subscription Database Use

Databases may only be used by currently enrolled students, staff, and faculty. It is a violation of our licensing agreements to provide access to non-students or individuals outside the Otis community. It is a violation of the Otis Code of Conduct for you to allow others to use your password.

Citing Content from Databases

Most databases have a built-in citation tool. It is typically located in the top or side toolbar when you're viewing an item, such as an article, image, eBook, etc. See also the MLA Citation Guide.

Why Use Library Databases?

We recommend using library databases because you are much more likely to find quality information, especially for academic research. The articles and eBooks found in our databases:

• Are vetted and selected by experts
• Have reputable publishers
• List the credentials of authors and publishers
• Include descriptive subjects in their metadata, which improves searching

Going Beyond the Surface (Web): Internet Search Engines vs. Databases

A database is a collection of records (or data) that is organized and retrievable. Unlike a broad Internet search through Google or other search engines, databases have information that isn't indexed on the surface web and have more descriptive metadata to improve search results.

The surface web (also referred to as the "visible web") is made up of websites that are available to the general public and have been indexed by Internet search engines like Google. This includes content from sites like Wikipedia, Reddit, social media, and e-commerce sites. It does not include sources from the deep web (also known as the "invisible web" or "hidden web"), including content from library databases. Sources indexed in databases include scholarly journals, substantive news articles, and other high-quality sources that are behind publisher paywalls.

Please note that not all information is available online. Print books and periodicals are vital resources!

Above: Graphic representing what sources make up the surface, deep, and dark web. From UCSD Library.

Help & Tutorials

Help materials from the database vendors:

• Art & Architecture Source
• JSTOR
• Proquest Ebook Central
• Proquest eLibrary
• Proquest Research Library
• VOGUE Archive
• WGSN (2014 Cheatsheet)

Guides created by Otis College and by other institutions:

• New York Times
• Wikipedia
• Grammarly
• Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints (National Park College Library)
• Google/Google Scholar for Academic Research (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Libraries)

  • Guide for searching Google and Google Scholar for articles, books, patents, and case laws. Once you find an item in Google Scholar, search for it in our catalog to check for full text.

Tips for Strategic Searching:

• Coming Soon!