Skip to main content

Citation Guide (MLA 8th Edition): Magazine Articles

Tips

Access Date

For all content found on the Web, you must list the date you first viewed the resource. This comes last in a citation. The exception to this rule is that you do not list access date for content found in library databases.

Authors/Editors

An author can be a person but can also be an organization, or company. These are called group or corporate authors.

Database Names

The name of the database will usually appear at the top of the search screen. Note that ProQuest and EBSCOhost are NOT database names, they are database providers. The name of the database will appear separately.

If you have used the function to search multiple databases at once and therefore do not know the individual database name, enter the name of the database provider (e.g. ProQuest) as the database.

Dates

The format of all dates is: Date Month (shortened) Year. E.g. 5 Sept. 2012.

Page Numbers

If no page number is listed, write n. pag. in the Works Cited list.

If the entire article is only one page, do not include a page number in the in-text citation.

If the article appears on non-consecutive pages (e.g., the article starts on page 5 then continues on page 12), write the first page number and a plus (+) sign. E.g., 5+

Titles

Capitalize the first letter of every important word in the title. You do not need to capitalize words such as: in, of, or an.

If there is a colon (:) in the title, include what comes after the colon (also known as the subtitle).

Magazine Article From a Library Database

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, pp. page numbers. Name of Database. 

For in-text citations, use (Author's Last Name Page Number)

Works Cited List Example

Weinstein, Becca. "Trying Before Buying." Psychology Today, May-June 2012, pp. 46-47. ABI/INFORM Global. 

In-Text Citation Example (Weinstein 46)

 Note: While MLA 8th edition recommends including URLs, they can be left out when citing a work found in a library database. Accessed date is also optional.

Magazine Article From a Website

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any."Title of Magazine, Date of publication, URL. Accessed date.

For in-text citations, use (Author's Last Name)

Works Cited List Example

Cosh, Kolby. "Tiny Human Brains Threaten Giant Dinosaur Bones in Alberta." Macleans, 25 July 2012, www.macleans.ca/news/canada/a-blight-at-the-museum. Accessed 13 June 2016.

In-Text Citation Example

(Cosh)

Magazine Article in Print

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of Magazine, Date of Publication, pp. Page numbers. 

For in-text citations, use (Author's Last Name Page Number)

Works Cited List Example

Loney, Sydney. "Family Fare." Today's Parent, Jan. 2012, pp. 59-61. 

In-Text Citation Example

(Loney 59)

How to Cite When There Is No Author

If there is no named author, start the citation with "Title of Article."

"Title of Article: Subtitle if Any."

For in-text citations, use ("First Word or Words of the Title" Page Number)

Works Cited List Example

"Outsmart Your Cravings." Prevention, 30 Jan. 2008, p. 45. 

In-Text Citation Example

("Outsmart" 45)

 Note: This magazine article doesn't list an author, so the first word or words of the title are included in the in-text citation in quotation marks.

 

How to Cite When You Have Two Authors

If you have two authors, cite only the first author listed in the "Last Name, First Name" format. Authors' names are separated by a comma and the word "and" before the second author's name.

Last Name, First Name Middle Name, and Second Author's First Name Last Name.

For in-text citations, use (First Author's Last Name and Second Author's Last Name Page Number)

Works Cited List Example

Bosch, James Vanden, and David Crump. "Divorce and the Congregation." Books and Culture, Mar.-Apr. 2012, p. 22. Academic OneFile. 

In-Text Citation Sample

(Bosch and Crump 22)

How to Cite When You Have Three or More Authors

If you have three or more authors, cite only the name of the first author listed followed by a comma and "et al."

Last Name, First Name Middle Name, et al.

For in-text citations, use (Author's Last Name et al. Page Number)

Works Cited List Example

Kirwin, Liza, et al. “Regional Reports.” Archives of American Art Journal, vol. 31, no. 2, 1991, pp. 34–40. JSTOR, JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/1557718.

In-Text Citation Sample

(Kirwin, Liza et al. 34)

Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | Otis Dashboard

Millard Sheets Library | Library Dashboard Site | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian