Skip to main content

Citation Guide (MLA 8th Edition): Newspaper Articles

Tips

Access Date

For all content found on the Web, you must list the date you first viewed the resource. This comes last in a citation.

Authors/Editors

An author can be a person but can also be an organization, or company. These are called group or corporate authors.

City of Newspaper

If the name of the city in which the newspaper is published is not evident from the title of the newspaper then provide the city in square brackets after the title of the newspaper.

E.g., When citing the Toronto Star, it is evident that the newspaper is published in Toronto. However, if citing The Gazette, it is not evident from the title that it is published in Montreal, so include [Montreal] after writing The Gazette.

Database Names

The name of the database will usually apear at the top of the search screen. Note that ProQuest and EBSCOhost are NOT database names, they are database providers. The name of the database will appear separately.

If you have used the function to search multiple databases at once and therefore do not know the individual database name, enter the name of the database provider (e.g. ProQuest) as the database.

Dates

The format of all dates is: Day Month (shortened) Year. For example, 5 Sept. 2012.

Page Numbers

If no page number is listed, write n. pag. in the Works Cited list.

If the entire article is only one page, do not include a page number in the in-text citation.

If the article appears on non-consecutive pages (e.g., the article starts on page 5 then continues on page 12), write the first page number and a plus (+) sign. E.g., 5+

Titles

Capitalize the first letter of every important word in the title. You do not need to capitalize words such as: in, of, or an.

If there is a colon (:) in the title, include what comes after the colon (also known as the subtitle).

Newspaper Article From a Library Database

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Newspaper [city of newspaper if city name not in name], Date of Publication, p. Page number if given. Name of Database. 

For in-text citations, use (Author's Last Name Page Number)

Works Cited Example

Faucon, Benoit, et al. "The Men Who Trade ISIS Loot; The middlemen who buy and sell antiquities looted by ISIS from Syria and Iraq explain how the smuggling supply chain works." Wall Street Journal (Online), 6 Aug. 2017. eLibrary.

 Note: If an article ends with a question mark or exclamation mark (!), you do not need to add a period to mark the end of the title.

In-Text Citation Example

(Faucon, Benoit, et al.)

 Note: If an article is only one page long, you do not need to provide the page number in the in-text citation.

Newspaper Article From a Website

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Title of website, Name of Newspaper, Date of Publication, URL. Access date.

For in-text citations, use (Author's Last Name Page Number)

Works Cited List Example

Morrison, Malcolm. "TSX Recovers on Greece News." thestar.com, Toronto Star, 23 June 2011, www.thestar.com/business/economy/2011/06/23/tsx_recovers_on_greece_news.html. Accessed 7 June 2016.

 Note: This entry has no page numbers, so this information is left out of the citation.

In-Text Citation Example

(Morrison)

 Note: This entry has no page numbers, so this information is left out of the citation.

Newspaper Article in Print

Author's Last Name, First Name. "Title of Article: Subtitle if Any." Name of Newspaper, Date of Publication, p. Page number. 

For in-text citations, use (Author's Last Name Page Number)

Works Cited List Example

Smith, Bill. "Talks on Bosnia Bog Down Over Borders." Toronto Star, 18 Aug. 2012, p. B6. 

In-Text Citation Example

(Smith B6)

 Note: If an article is only one page long, you do not need to provide the page number in the in-text citation.

How to Cite an Unknown Author

If there is no named author, start the citation with "Title of Article."

"Title of Article: Subtitle if Any."

For in-text citations, use ("First Word or Words of the Title" Page Number)

Works Cited List Example

"A Times Correspondent Describes Meeting ISIS Militants in Iraq." New York Times, 25 Oct. 2017, p. A2, nyti.ms/2zCutKV.

In-Text Citation Example

("Times")

 Note: This magazine article doesn't list an author, so the first word or words of the title are included in the in-text citation in quotation marks.

 

Otis College of Art and Design | 9045 Lincoln Blvd. Los Angeles, CA 90045 | Otis Dashboard

Millard Sheets Library | Library Dashboard Site | 310-665-6930 | Ask a Librarian